Starting grid for the 2014 United States Grand Prix


AUSTIN – In just three years, the United States Grand Prix has already firmly established itself as one of the most popular and exciting races on the Formula 1 calendar, and this year’s race in Austin is set to be no exception.

After trailing teammate and championship rival Lewis Hamilton in all three practice sessions at the Circuit of The Americas, Nico Rosberg pulled the goods out of the bag when they mattered to beat his adversary to pole position on Saturday afternoon.

Rosberg produced a stunning final lap in the last stage of Q3 to edge out Hamilton by three-tenths of a second as the Briton struggled with a brake problem. Nevertheless, he is gunning for his fifth straight victory in Austin this weekend, and will still be a forced to be reckoned with from second place on the grid.

Yet again, Williams put in an impressive display to lock out the second row of the grid, with Valtteri Bottas enjoying his sixth top-three qualifying result in the last eight races. Daniel Ricciardo and Fernando Alonso did all that they could to qualify fifth and sixth respectively, whilst both Adrian Sutil and Pastor Maldonado enjoyed their best Saturdays of the 2014 season to secure a top-10 start.

However, there are a few grid penalties to be applied, shaking up the grid slightly.


  • Jenson Button drops five places on the grid after changing his gearbox for this weekend’s race in Austin. He falls from P7 to P12.
  • Daniil Kvyat has been hit with a 10-place penalty after using his seventh internal combustion engine of the season. However, as he can only serve three places in Austin, he will drop a further seven next weekend in Brazil.
  • Sebastian Vettel will start the race from the pit lane after Red Bull completely overhauled the engine on his RB10 car. He did however reach the required 107% time in Q1 to ensure that he can start the race.


1. Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
3. Valtteri Bottas Williams
4. Felipe Massa Williams
5. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
6. Fernando Alonso Ferrari
7. Kevin Magnussen McLaren
8. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
9. Adrian Sutil Sauber
10. Pastor Maldonado Lotus
11. Sergio Perez Force India
12. Jenson Button McLaren
13. Nico Hulkenberg Force India
14. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
15. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber
16. Romain Grosjean Lotus
17. Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso

PL. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull


Peacock to stream all Supercross and Motocross races in 2023, plus inaugural SuperMotocross Championship

Peacock Supercross Motocross 2023
Feld Entertainment, Inc.

NBC Sports and Feld Motor Sports announced that Peacock and the NBC family of networks will stream all 31 races of the combined Monster Energy Supercross, Lucas Oil Pro Motocross and the newly created SuperMotocross World Championship beginning January 7, 2023 at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California and ending October 14 in the place where Supercross was born: the Los Angeles Coliseum.

The combined series will create a 10-month calendar of events, making it one of the longest professional sports’ seasons in the United States.

The agreement is for multiple years. The season finale will air live on Peacock and the USA Network.

Peacock will present live coverage of all races, qualifying and heats across both series. The 31 total races will mark a record for the combined number of Supercross and Pro Motocross events that NBC Sports will present in a single season.

NBC, USA Network and CNBC will provide coverage of all races, including the SuperMotocross World Championship Playoffs and Final, through 2023 and beyond. For more information about the Peacock streaming service, click here.

“With our wide array of live and original motorsports offerings, Peacock is a natural home for Supercross and Pro Motocross races,” said Rick Cordella, Chief Commercial Officer, Peacock. “We’re looking forward to providing fans with an easily-accessible destination to find every race all season long, including the exciting finish with the newly formed SuperMotocross World Championship.”

MORE: A conversation about media rights created the new SuperMotocross World Championship Series

The NBC family of networks has been home to Supercross for the past several seasons and this is a continuation of that relationship. The media rights for both series expired at the end of 2022, which allowed Supercross and Motocross to combine their efforts.

In fact, it was that conversation that led to the formation of the SuperMotocross World Championship (SMX).

The SMX series will begin on September 9, 2023 after the conclusion of the Pro Motocross season. Points will accumulate from both series to seed the SMX championship, which creates a record number of unified races.

“The SuperMotocross World Championship adds a new dimension to the annual Supercross and Pro Motocross seasons that will result in crowning the ultimate World Champion,” said Stephen C. Yaros, SVP Global Media and Supercross for Feld Motor Sports. “We are thrilled to be extending our relationship with NBC Sports so our fans can watch all the racing action streaming live on Peacock and the option to also watch select rounds on NBC, USA Network and CNBC.”

Complete 2023 coverage schedules for Supercross, Pro Motocross and the SuperMotocross World Championship on Peacock, NBC, USA Network and CNBC will be announced in the near future.