Brazilian Grand Prix times, schedule across NBC, CNBC, NBCSN this weekend

1 Comment

NBC Sports Group will present more than 15 hours of comprehensive coverage of the Formula One Brazilian Grand Prix this week across NBC, NBCSN, CNBC, and NBC Sports Live Extra. Live coverage of the Brazilian Grand Prix on Sunday begins at 10:30 a.m. ET on CNBC. NBC will air an encore presentation of the race at 1 p.m. ET on Sunday.

NBC Sports Live Extra – NBC Sports Group’s live streaming product for desktops, mobile devices, and tablets – will provide streaming coverage of all practices, qualifying, and the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Mercedes drivers Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg will continue their battle atop the F1 drivers’ championship standings this weekend in Sao Paolo. Hamilton currently leads Rosberg by 24 points with two races remaining in the 2014 season. Hamilton held off Rosberg last weekend at the United States Grand Prix for his 10th victory of the season, but Rosberg’s second-place finish ensured that the 2014 title will be determined at the final race of the season in Abu Dhabi on Sunday, Nov. 23.

Coverage begins Friday at 7 a.m. ET with Practice 1 exclusively on NBC Sports Live Extra, followed by Practice 2 at 11 a.m. ET on NBCSN. Live Extra will provide exclusive live coverage of Practice 3 on Saturday at 8 a.m. ET, and CNBC will present live qualifying at 11 a.m. ET on Saturday. CNBC will air live coverage of the Brazilian Grand Prix on Sunday, beginning at 10:30 a.m. ET, prior to NBC’s encore presentation of the Brazilian GP at 1 p.m. ET.

NBCSN will air encore presentations of qualifying on Saturday at 12:30 p.m. ET, and the Brazilian GP on Sunday at 4 p.m. ET.

Lead F1 announcer Leigh Diffey will call the Brazilian Grand Prix, and will be joined by veteran analyst and former driver David Hobbs, and analyst and former race mechanic for the Benetton F1 team Steve Matchett. F1 insider Will Buxton will serve as the team’s on-site reporter from Interlagos in Sao Paolo, Brazil.

Pre-race coverage on F1 Countdown Sunday at 10:30 a.m. ET on CNBC will feature a look back at the great moments in Brazil’s F1 history by NBC Sports Group F1 essayist Sam Posey. In addition, NBC Sports Group motorsports analyst Townsend Bell will take fans on a drive around Interlagos in the iRacing Simulator on F1 Extra on Friday at 5 p.m. ET.

Motorsports Coverage This Week on NBC, NBCSN, CNBC & NBC Sports Live Extra (subject to change):

Date Program Time (ET) Network
Thurs., November 6 NASCAR AMERICA 5 p.m. NBCSN
Auctions America – Auburn (Encore) 7 p.m. NBCSN
Auctions America – Auburn (Encore) 9 p.m. NBCSN
Fri., November 7 Auctions America – Auburn (Encore) 12 a.m. NBCSN
F1 Brazilian Grand Prix – Practice 1 7 a.m. NBC Sports Live Extra
F1 Brazilian Grand Prix – Practice 2 11 a.m. NBCSN
Road To Mercedes (Encore) 12:30 p.m. NBCSN
F1 Countdown 5 p.m. NBCSN
F1 Brazilian Grand Prix – Practice 2 (Encore) 10:30 p.m. NBCSN
Sat., November 8 F1 Brazilian Grand Prix – Practice 3 8 a.m. NBC Sports Live Extra
F1 Brazilian Grand Prix – Qualifying 11 a.m. CNBC
F1 Brazilian Grand Prix – Qualifying (Encore) 12:30 p.m. NBCSN
Sun., November 9 F1 Countdown 10:30 a.m. CNBC
F1 Brazilian Grand Prix 11 a.m. CNBC
F1 Countdown (Encore) 1 p.m. NBC
F1 Brazilian Grand Prix (Encore) 1:30 p.m. NBC
F1 Extra 3:30 p.m. NBC
F1 Brazilian Grand Prix (Encore) 4 p.m. NBCSN
F1 Extra (Encore) 6:30 p.m. NBCSN

Dan Ticktum wins crash-marred FIA F3 World Cup in Macau
Leave a comment

Overshadowed by a horrific crash involving Sophia Floersch was the fact that 19-year-old Dan Ticktum dominated and won the Macau Grand Prix – a victory that puts him closer to earning the superlicence required to allow him to race with Formula 1, according to Yahoo! Sports.

Ticktum won Macau’s qualification race as well as the Grand Prix, starting first in both events. For his victories, he earned 10 points, which combined with 25 for his runner-up finish in the European F3 Championship leaves him just five below the 40 needed for the license.

This was Ticktum’s second Macau Grand Prix victory.

“It was a dominant performance that I was preparing for,” Ticktum said on his web site. “I don’t think I’ve ever prepared as hard as I did for this race and it all worked out. In the final race a lot of variables were thrown at me but I handled them.”

On his way to victory lane, Ticktum had to survive several restarts including the lengthy red flag period following Floersch’s accident to repair the barrier.

“I can’t count how many safety car restarts we had to do,” Ticktum said. “It puts a lot of pressure on a driver here with such a long run down to the first corner. I can’t remember a weekend when I’ve put it all together so well.

“The car was absolutely perfect all weekend, it was so good and I can’t thank Motopark enough for that. I’ve never been so involved in the set-up, felt so at one with the car as I did this weekend.”