It’s not the Cup, but Brad Keselowski will race for a title at Homestead after all


Team Penske’s Joey Logano is among the Championship 4 that will compete for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship next weekend at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

His teammate, Brad Keselowski, is not despite finishing fourth in yesterday’s Eliminator Round finale at Phoenix.

But Keselowski will nonetheless be racing for a title in South Florida – perhaps not the one he really wants, but one that would be appreciated ’round Penske Way.

Logano was slated to drive the No. 22 Team Penske Ford Mustang in this coming Saturday’s NASCAR Nationwide Series finale, the Ford Ecoboost 300.

Keselowski drove said car to victory this past Saturday in Arizona, which padded the No. 22’s lead in the NNS owner’s championship to 29 points over the Joe Gibbs Racing No. 54.

But with Logano now involved in a winner-take-all battle for the Sprint Cup against Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin and Ryan Newman, he’s handing over his Nationwide duties at Homestead to Keselowski, who will try to give Roger Penske his second consecutive NNS owner’s crown.

Multiple NASCAR reporters including Bob Pockrass of the Sporting News and ESPN’s Jamie Little have confirmed the news:

This is definitely the right call to make for Team Penske, which needs Logano to focus on beating Harvick, Hamlin, and Newman in Sunday’s 400-mile Cup finale and nothing else.

As for Keselowski, he’s been stellar in Nationwide competition this year. His Phoenix win on Saturday was his fifth NNS win of 2014 in 10 starts, and he’s finished no worse than fourth in any of them. His average finish in those 10 starts? A staggering 1.8.

Needless to say, Team Penske should feel pretty confident about handing the ball off to Keselowski for Saturday.