El nuevo campeón: Abraham Calderón captures NASCAR Mexico title


Only four points separated championship rivals Abraham Calderón and Ruben Garcia Jr. going into Sunday’s NASCAR Toyota Mexico Series season finale at Puebla, Mexico.

But early-race contact with another competitor hampered Garcia’s efforts, and Calderón ended up taking the title with a seventh-place finish in the Ficrea 240, which was won by Homero Richards.

Calderón, who along with Garcia recently took part in this year’s NASCAR Drive for Diversity combine, earned the first Mexico Series championship for his Telcel team since 2011 despite not taking a single race win this year.

But his five Top-5s, 11 Top-10s, and average finish of eighth were enough to see him through by a nine-point margin over Garcia, who finished 12th on Sunday. For more reaction from Calderón, check out his post-race comments here.

Up front at Puebla, Richards survived a pair of green-white-checkered attempts to earn his second win of the season over Rogelio Lopez, Irwin Vences, Rafael Martinez, and Patrick Goeters.

In what may be his final NASCAR Toyota Mexico Series race for a little while, Daniel Suarez – Joe Gibbs Racing’s Nationwide/XFINITY Series driver-to-be – finished sixth after suffering from mechanical issues early.