Carl Edwards to say goodbye to Roush Fenway on Sunday, Jimmy Fennig heads to semi-retirement


While this is a weekend of championships at Homestead-Miami Speedway, it’s also a weekend of goodbye’s:

* Marcos Ambrose is competing in his last Sprint Cup race (barring any future one-off races, particularly on road courses like Sonoma and Watkins Glen).

Ambrose is returning with his family to his native Australia to compete on the V8 Supercars Series, for a team co-owned by legendary owner Roger Penske.

Before he came to NASCAR, Ambrose was a two-time V8 Supercars champion.

* Sunday will be Steve Letarte’s last race as crew chief for Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Letarte will join NBC as an analyst on NASCAR telecasts next year.

* And Carl Edwards and crew chief Jimmy Fennig will be spending their final race together, with both men going in different directions after Homestead.

Edwards is moving next season to Joe Gibbs Racing, following former RFR teammate Matt Kenseth, who moved to JGR in 2013.

Fennig, meanwhile, is retiring after 30 years as a crew chief, first in the American Speed Association (won a championship with Mark Martin in 1986) and then NASCAR.

Edwards, who was eliminated from the Chase last week at Phoenix – ending his hope of earning a Sprint Cup championship before leaving Roush Fenway Racing – on Sunday will compete in his 373rd and final race for the only Sprint Cup organization he’s known.

Edwards came close once before to winning a championship for RFR, tying for the title in 2011, but ended up second in the final standings when NASCAR was forced to go to the tie-breaker: most wins, which Tony Stewart had five to Edwards’ one.

Still, Edwards did win the Nationwide Series championship for RFR in 2007, sandwiched around four runner-up finishes in 2006, 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Edwards has had good success in the Cup ranks at HMS. Since he fell short of being able to give a championship to Roush, a win in Sunday’s race would probably be the next best thing.

Edwards has two Sprint Cup wins at Homestead in 2008 and 2010, and also won a Nationwide Series event there in 2008. In 10 career Cup starts there, Edwards has an average start of 11.7 and an outstanding average finish of 6.6.

“Even though our run at the championship is over, I am really looking forward to Homestead,” Edwards said in his weekly media release. “It has been a great race track for us. I love racing there.

“It’s Ford Championship Week and I want to get a win for Jack Roush and Jimmy Fennig and all of my guys, because they have worked so hard this year. They did the impossible. We made the Chase and we have two wins.

“(Plus) we held on for nine races of the Chase with a shot of winning the championship. I am really proud of every one of them. I want to give the performance to finish the season the way that everyone deserves. That’s what I am going to do.

“Jimmy and I have talked and he is as fired up as ever and hopefully we can go and do a good job.”

Fennig, who won the first Chase for the Sprint Cup (known as the Chase for the Nextel Cup then) in 2004 with Kurt Busch, is essentially semi-retiring, but is expected to remain with RFR as a consultant.

In words that were said 10 years ago but are still true today, Jack Roush said of Fennig after he and Busch won the 2004 title:

“Jimmy Fennig is an unsung hero at Roush Racing. He doesn’t do things that create a personal image away from the driver or away from the sponsor or away from the team.

“He’s the trooper that’s back there doing everything that he can everyday.”

Follow me @JerryBonkowski

IndyCar results, points after Detroit Grand Prix


DETROIT — Alex Palou topped the results of an NTT IndyCar Series race for the second time this season, extending his championship points lead with his victory in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix.

The Chip Ganassi Racing driver, who also won the GMR Grand Prix (and the Indy 500 pole position) last month, holds a 51-point lead over teammate Marcus Ericsson (ninth at Detroit) through seven of 17 races this season.

Ganassi, which placed all four of its drivers in the top 10 at Detroit, has three of the top four in the championship standings with Scott Dixon ranked fourth after a fourth at Detroit.

FLAVOR FLAV POWERS UP: Iconic rapper hangs out with Team Penske

Indy 500 winner Josef Newgarden is third in the standings after taking a 10th at Detroit. Pato O’Ward slipped to fifth in the points after crashing and finishing 26th

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:


Click here for the official box score from the 100-lap race on a nine-turn, 1.645-mile street course in downtown Detroit.

Lap leader summary

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (1) Alex Palou, Honda, 100, Running
2. (7) Will Power, Chevrolet, 100, Running
3. (9) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 100, Running
4. (4) Scott Dixon, Honda, 100, Running
5. (13) Alexander Rossi, Chevrolet, 100, Running
6. (12) Kyle Kirkwood, Honda, 100, Running
7. (2) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 100, Running
8. (11) Marcus Armstrong, Honda, 100, Running
9. (6) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 100, Running
10. (5) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 100, Running
11. (24) Colton Herta, Honda, 100, Running
12. (17) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 100, Running
13. (8) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 100, Running
14. (20) Agustin Canapino, Chevrolet, 100, Running
15. (15) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 100, Running
16. (18) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 100, Running
17. (25) Jack Harvey, Honda, 100, Running
18. (14) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 100, Running
19. (23) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 100, Running
20. (19) Benjamin Pedersen, Chevrolet, 97, Running
21. (22) Santino Ferrucci, Chevrolet, 97, Running
22. (26) Sting Ray Robb, Honda, 97, Running
23. (21) David Malukas, Honda, 85, Contact
24. (3) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 80, Contact
25. (27) Graham Rahal, Honda, 50, Contact
26. (10) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 41, Contact
27. (16) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 1, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 80.922 mph; Time of Race: 02:01:58.1171; Margin of victory: 1.1843 seconds; Cautions: 7 for 32 laps; Lead changes: 10 among seven drivers. Lap Leaders: Palou 1-28; Power 29-33; O’Ward 34; Palou 35-55; Power 56-64; Palou 65; Rossi 66; Newgarden 67-68; Kirkwood 69; Ericsson 70-76; Palou 77-100.


Click here for the points tally in the race.

Here are the points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:



Engine manufacturers

Pit stop performance

Top 10 in points: Palou 273, Ericsson 222, Newgarden 203, Dixon 194, O’Ward 191, Rossi 176, McLaughlin 175, Power 172, Herta 149, Rosenqvist 148.

Rest of the standings: Grosjean 145, Kirkwood 142, Lundgaard 136, Ilott 116, VeeKay 108, Ferrucci 105, Armstrong 101, Rahal 99, Malukas 91, Daly 88, DeFrancesco 81, Castroneves 80, Harvey 78, Canapino 77, Pagenaud 72, Pedersen 61, Robb 55, Takuma Sato 37, Ed Carpenter 27, Ryan Hunter-Reay 20, Tony Kanaan 18, Marco Andretti 13, RC Enerson 5, Katherine Legge 5.

Next race: IndyCar will head to Road America for the Sonsio Grand Prix, which will take place June 18 with coverage starting at 1 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock.