GP3: Alex Lynn wins championship after qualifying in Abu Dhabi


ABU DHABI – Alex Lynn has been crowned the 2014 GP3 Series champion in Abu Dhabi today after his only possible rival, Dean Stoneman, failed to score pole position for the feature race at Yas Marina.

Lynn entered the final weekend of the season with a 47-point lead, meaning that Stoneman had to enjoy a perfect weekend – pole position (worth four points), two wins and two fastest laps (worth two points each) – to stand any chance to denying his compatriot the title.

However, he could only finish second in Friday’s qualifying session, losing out to German youngster Marvin Kirchhofer by four-tenths of a second in the final standings, handing Lynn the championship.

A member of the Red Bull junior programme, Lynn is in the running for the vacant seat at Scuderia Toro Rosso for 2015, and said after the session that he feels ready to make the step up.

“We’ve known it was coming mathematically since Russia, so clinching the title today wasn’t a massive surprise,” he said. “Really we’re focusing on the rest of the weekend and a strong result in the last two races of the season to help wrap up the teams’ championship too.

“I’m obviously absolutely delighted to finally win the GP3 Series: this title is definitely the biggest result of my career so far. The next step is that we still have a GP3 Series season to finish. I’m determined to enjoy myself and try and win those last two races too.

“But I absolutely I feel ready for Formula 1. If you look at the job that Daniil Kvyat did this year in F1, as reigning GP3 Series champion, it just goes to show how well this category prepares you for the very highest level of racing.”

Lynn’s victory means that drivers hailing from Great Britain have won both single seater series on Formula 1’s undercard. In Russia, Jolyon Palmer won the GP2 championship, and it could yet become a hat-trick for the UK as Lewis Hamilton goes in search of his second F1 world title on Sunday.