Luke Lambert, Ryan Newman’s crew chief, named ‘Problem Solver of the Year’; earns $100k prize


Luke Lambert solved all kinds of problems during the 2014 season.

It was his uncanny solutions that helped lead driver Ryan Newman to a runner-up finish in the Chase for the Sprint Cup.

That’s why it’s not surprising Lambert has been named Federal-Mogul Motorparts’ “Problem Solver of the Year.”

“Luke and Ryan turned a lot of heads as they started to climb the Chase standings with a string of outstanding performances at Pocono, Dover, Kansas and Talladega,” said Michael Proud, director of marketing, North America, Federal-Mogul Motorparts. “In each of those races, Luke and the RCR crew made critical adjustments that helped maximize the performance of their MOOG-equipped steering and suspension.

“That level of problem solving excellence is what our customers expect from MOOG parts, and it’s a skill we celebrate each week through this innovative awards platform.”

In addition to the winner’s trophy, Lambert, 31, also will receive a check for a cool $100,000 for earning the award. The trophy and check will be presented to Lambert during the Myers Brothers Award ceremony Dec. 4 in Las Vegas.

Lambert is in his second full season as a Sprint Cup crew chief, having led Jeff Burton’s final season with Richard Childress Racing in 2013, and then transitioned to be Newman’s crew chief in the latter’s first season with RCR.

Lambert earned the weekly “Problem Solver of the Race” award four times during this past season, which counted heavily towards earning the year-long title. A total of 18 crew chiefs won the weekly award in 2014.

Four crew chiefs tied for second place in the Problem Solver season standings: Jimmy Fennig (crew chief for Carl Edwards), Chris Heroy (Kyle Larson), Chad Knaus (Jimmie Johnson) and Steve Letarte (Dale Earnhardt Jr.).

Follow me @JerryBonkowski