Starting grid for the 2014 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Leave a comment

ABU DHABI – Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg enter their final battle for the 2014 Formula 1 world championship today in Abu Dhabi, with the Mercedes drivers both standing a chance of winning the drivers’ title.

Hamilton heads into the final race of the year with a 17-point lead at the top of the standings, but with double points on offer for the race in Abu Dhabi, there is still everything to play for.

A top two finish would be enough for Hamilton, and he had to settle for second place in qualifying yesterday as Rosberg produced a fine performance in the final part of Q3 to secure his eleventh pole position of the season.

For the race, Rosberg has said that he does not feel under pressure as he has nothing to lose, whereas Hamilton has plenty. The final battle does promise to be a thrilling one in Abu Dhabi, and after a season full of drama and intrigue, the decisive race is unlikely to be any different.

You can read our full qualifying report here, but here is the updated grid following a few penalties ahead of the race.


  • The big news post-qualifying was the exclusion of Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo from the final results after the FIA stewards deemed the front wing on the Red Bull cars to be illegal. Following changes overnight, both cars will start from the pit lane.
  • Romain Grosjean was handed a 20-place grid penalty for changing some engine elements ahead of the race. He was only able to serve four places after qualifying 16th, and will go into the race with a 10-second stop/go penalty to make up for the rest of the penalty.


1. Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
3. Valtteri Bottas Williams
4. Felipe Massa Williams
5. Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso
6. Jenson Button McLaren
7. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
8. Fernando Alonso Ferrari
9. Kevin Magnussen McLaren
10. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
11. Sergio Perez Force India
12. Nico Hulkenberg Force India
13. Adrian Sutil Sauber
14. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber
15. Pastor Maldonado Lotus
16. Kamui Kobayashi Caterham
17. Will Stevens Caterham
18. Romain Grosjean Lotus
PL. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
PL. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull

You can watch the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix live on NBCSN and Live Extra from 7a ET today.

Mike Tirico and Danica Patrick team up again on NBC’s Indy 500 coverage

Danica Patrick Mike Tirico
Stephen King/IndyCar
Leave a comment

Mike Tirico and Danica Patrick will return to NBC Sports’ coverage of the Indianapolis 500, which will be broadcast Aug. 23 at 1 p.m. ET on NBC (green flag at 2:30 p.m.).

Tirico and Patrick, who both joined NBC Sports for its inaugural coverage of the event last year, will reprise their roles as host and studio analyst.

One of the most versatile voices in sports, Tirico also hosts NBC Olympics’ primetime coverage, Football Night in America and many other premier events, including hosting on-site at Indianapolis Motor Speedway earlier this year for the first-ever IndyCar-NASCAR crossover weekend.

AT THE BRICKYARD: Daily Indy 500 coverage schedule on NBC, NBCSN

He again will be joined during prerace, in-race, and postrace coverage by Patrick, who became the first woman to lead the Indy 500 in 2005 and also was the first female pole-sitter in NASCAR driver.

They will make their debut together duing practice coverage on Aug. 21, on NBCSN.

“My first Indy 500 last year exceeded my very high expectations in every way,” Tirico said in a release. “Although this year’s race will take place under unprecedented circumstances, I can’t wait to get back to Indy. I’m confident that our team at the Brickyard will provide viewers with as exciting a viewing experience as possible. I am also thrilled that Danica Patrick is along for the ride again this year. We had such a great time last May and look forward to bringing Indy home for the viewers again.”

Said Patrick: “The Indianapolis 500 is an event that transcends mainstream and motorsports which is why it’s so special. We are living during a time that if we can bring people together, we should. Even if it’s not physically. I am honored to be back with the NBC Sports team and Mike Tirico. The memories I have from 15 years at IMS hold such a special place in my heart and I can’t wait to make more this year in the booth, or however we are positioned in 2020!”

This will mark NBC Sports’ second season as the exclusive home of the NTT IndyCar Series, including the Indianapolis 500, which will take place in August for the first time ever because of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.