Abu Dhabi test lineups set for Tuesday, Wednesday


Formula One will have two more days of testing in Abu Dhabi on Tuesday and Wednesday before officially shutting down on-track activity for 2014.

Most of the teams have confirmed their driver lineups for the test ahead. In past years this was solely a young driver test, but this year it’s a mix of current drivers and youngsters.

McLaren, Sauber, Toro Rosso and Caterham will have a single driver for both days. Stoffel Vandoorne, Marcus Ericsson, Max Verstappen and Will Stevens will drive, respectively.

Vandoorne gets two more days of running in the temporary McLaren MP4-29X1/H1 Honda, Ericsson makes his Sauber debut after being cleared from his Caterham contractual obligations, Verstappen will set a baseline for Toro Rosso and Stevens will follow up his Grand Prix debut with two more days for Caterham.

Two driver lineups occur for at least five of the remaining six teams. Of note, Mercedes reserve Pascal Wehrlein will run on the Wednesday, Ferrari junior Raffaele Marciello will as well, Force India runs GP2 champion Jolyon Palmer and Spike Goddard, and Felipe Nasr will have his final day with Williams on Wednesday before he is set to join Ericsson at Sauber next year.

Ferrari’s test of course is more noteworthy than it would have been 24 hours ago with the news Marco Mattiacci is out and Maurizio Arrivabene is in as new team principal.

Lotus is yet to confirm whether Esteban Ocon will run both days or if Romain Grosjean and/or Pastor Maldonado will be in alongside.

Here’s the lineups:

  • Mercedes: Nico Rosberg (Tuesday), Pascal Wehrlein (Wednesday)
  • Red Bull: Carlos Sainz (Tuesday), Daniel Ricciardo (Wednesday)
  • Williams: Valtteri Bottas (Tuesday), Felipe Nasr (Wednesday)
  • Ferrari: Kimi Raikkonen (Tuesday), Raffaele Marciello (Wednesday)
  • McLaren: Stoffel Vandoorne (both days)
  • Force India: Jolyon Palmer (Tuesday), Spike Goddard (Wednesday)
  • Toro Rosso: Max Verstappen (both days)
  • Lotus: Esteban Ocon (days to be confirmed)
  • Sauber: Marcus Ericsson (both days)
  • Caterham: Will Stevens (both days)

Three-time W Series champ Jamie Chadwick joining Andretti in Indy NXT Series for 2023


Jamie Chadwick, the three-time W Series champion, will drive for Andretti Autosport in the Indy NXT Series next season.

Chadwick will make her debut in an American racing series in March, driving the No. 28 for Andretti Autosport with sponsorship from DHL. The 24-year-old will become the first female driver in 13 years to compete full time in the Indy NXT championship.

Chadwick joined the female free-to-enter W Series in its inaugural 2019 season, winning two races and the first of three consecutive championships. She has been a reserve driver for the Williams Formula One team and will continue in that role in 2023. She also has driven in the Extreme E Series.

Despite her success, Chadwick hasn’t landed a bigger ride in F3 or F2, and her break didn’t come until Michael Andretti contacted her and offered a test in an Indy NXT car.

The final three races of this year’s W Series schedule were canceled when funding fell through, but Chadwick still believes the all-female series was the right path for her.

“W Series has always been and will continue to be an opportunity to be racing for every female driver, so for my side, I looked at it while perhaps I would have liked to step up maybe earlier, at the same time being able to have that chance to race, get that experience, have that development, seat time… I was constantly learning,” Chadwick told The Associated Press.

“In that sense, I wasn’t frustrated at all. But on the flip side of it, now I’ve had that experience testing in the United States in Indy NXT and this is something I’m really excited about.”

Chadwick also is expected to have an enhanced role as a development driver next season with Williams, which chose American driver Logan Sargeant to fill its open seat on next year’s F1 grid.

“Andretti Autosport is proud to be supporting Jamie alongside DHL,” said Michael Andretti. “Jamie’s successful career speaks for itself, but Indy NXT gives Jamie the opportunity to continue her development in a new type of racing.

“We’ve turned out five Indy NXT champions over the years and look forward to continuing our role in developing new talent.”

Indy NXT is the new name of the rebranded Indy Lights Series, the final step on the ladder system before IndyCar.

Andretti will field two drivers next season in IndyCar that were developed in Indy NXT: Kyle Kirkwood, the 2021 champion, will return to Andretti after one season in IndyCar driving for A.J. Foyt Racing, and Devlin DeFrancesco is back for a second season.

Chadwick will be teammates in Indy NXT with Hunter McElrea and Louis Foster. She becomes Andretti’s second full-time female driver alongside Catie Munnings, who competes for Andretti United in the Extreme E Series.