Jay Mohr back to host this year’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Awards; Aloe Blacc, Lady Antebellum among performers


A familiar face will be back to host this year’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Awards in Las Vegas.

Comedian/actor/radio host Jay Mohr, who’s still remembered fondly for opening last year’s celebration with a blisteringly funny monologue, will return as host for a second consecutive year.

“This is my fifth time hosting the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards and I’m honored to share the stage once again with some of the most talented athletes in the world,” said Mohr in a NASCAR release. “This has been an incredibly exciting year for NASCAR and it’s not every day that you get to be a part of a defining moment in the history of a sport.”

Additionally, soul/R&B star Aloe Blacc and country mega-group Lady Antebellum will be part of the night’s musical entertainment; Blacc, who also performed at the Daytona 500 back in February, is scheduled to be the night’s first performer, with Lady A coming on later in the evening.

Also set to take the stage are young sister act Lennon and Maisy from the hit TV show “Nashville.”

Said NASCAR veep of entertainment marketing/content development Zane Stoddard: “The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards present the opportunity to spotlight the biggest names in NASCAR, and we are thrilled to augment that star power with some of the most popular personalities in the entertainment industry. This year’s line-up is sure to add to what has been one of NASCAR’s most climactic racing seasons ever.”

The ceremony will take place at the Wynn Las Vegas on Dec. 5, with SiriusXM NASCAR Radio and the Motor Racing Network starting coverage that night at 8 p.m. ET before the TV broadcast starts at 9 p.m. ET (check your local listings). Sprint Cup champ Kevin Harvick and the rest of the Chase contenders will be honored.