FIA opens voting for “Action of the Year” award


The FIA has today opened the voting for its “Action of the Year” award, allowing fans to vote for their favorite moment of the racing year from a shortlist of 11 events.

Although the only nominations come from FIA sanctioned series – that is, F1, WRC, WEC, WTCC, ERC, WRX, F3 and karting – there are still a number of stand-out moments from the racing year that you can vote for.

As per the FIA website, “the FIA Action of the Year award allows motor sport’s legions of fans to choose their defining event of the sporting year.”

The nominations include Daniel Ricciardo’s pass for the lead on Fernando Alonso at the Hungarian Grand Prix, Seb Loeb’s rally-esque drift at Macau, Max Verstappen’s last-gasp overtake at Imola and some titanic battles between Audi, Toyota and Porsche from the World Endurance Championship.

To see videos of all of the nominated Actions of the Year and to cast your vote, click here.

The winning moment will be announced at the FIA’s end of season prizegiving and gala in Doha, Qatar on December 5th.

Supercross: Talon Hawkins to debut in Houston in relief of Jalek Swoll


Talon Hawkins, 19, will make his Monster Energy Supercross debut on a 250 this week in Houston, Texas as a fill-in rider for Jalek Swoll.

During the Anaheim 2 weekend, the Rockstar Energy Husqvarna team announced Swoll underwent successful surgery to repair a broken arm suffered in a practice crash.

That same weekend, Hawkins made some noise. He took the lead from teammate Casey Cohran on Lap 2 of the 250 SX Futures Main and led for three laps before he was overtaken by eventual winner Daxton Bennick. Cochran also got around him to push Hawkins to third.

This will not be Hawkins SuperMotocross professional debut, however; he made three Lucas Oil Pro Motocross starts last year with results of 19th at Spring Creek in Millville, Minnesota, 27th at Ironman in Crawfordsville, Indiana and a best finish of 17th in the season finale at Fox Raceway in Pala, California.

Hawkins also has a top-10 finish in the 125 All-Star division at Pala in 2019 riding a Husqvarna.

Speaking with before the Loretta Lynn Amateur Nationals, Hawkins predicted his future with Husqvarna would come down to how he performed in that race.

“It all just comes down to how I perform at Loretta’s,” Hawkins said. “Say I do really well, I get a top three in both classes and do a pretty solid job, I would like to go pro and just kind of finish out the rest of the series. But there’s also the option of waiting a little bit longer, going back out to [Aldon] Baker’s [Factory] or going anywhere and training, and just being prepared. I’m also open to that too. Honestly, it’s whatever the team wants. Whatever we think is the best option is what we’re going to go with. So, I don’t really have a plan right now, just looking into the future.”

Hawkins finished third overall in the 125 B/C and Schoolboy divisions at the Loretta Lynn Amateur Nationals.