FIA opens voting for “Action of the Year” award


The FIA has today opened the voting for its “Action of the Year” award, allowing fans to vote for their favorite moment of the racing year from a shortlist of 11 events.

Although the only nominations come from FIA sanctioned series – that is, F1, WRC, WEC, WTCC, ERC, WRX, F3 and karting – there are still a number of stand-out moments from the racing year that you can vote for.

As per the FIA website, “the FIA Action of the Year award allows motor sport’s legions of fans to choose their defining event of the sporting year.”

The nominations include Daniel Ricciardo’s pass for the lead on Fernando Alonso at the Hungarian Grand Prix, Seb Loeb’s rally-esque drift at Macau, Max Verstappen’s last-gasp overtake at Imola and some titanic battles between Audi, Toyota and Porsche from the World Endurance Championship.

To see videos of all of the nominated Actions of the Year and to cast your vote, click here.

The winning moment will be announced at the FIA’s end of season prizegiving and gala in Doha, Qatar on December 5th.