World RX: Petter Solberg closes season with win; Olsbergs MSE takes team title


Red Bull Global Rallycross champs Olsbergs MSE locked up the inaugural FIA World Rallycross Championship team title in today’s season finale at San Luis, Argentina, which was won by driver’s champ Petter Solberg.

Solberg finished the qualifying heats atop the intermediate points standings, then advanced through the semi-final and won the final from the pole position.

Meanwhile, the Olsbergs duo of Reinis Nitiss and Andreas Bakkerud finished second and sixth in their Ford Fiestas to lift OMSE past Marklund Motorsports for the team crown. OMSE clinched when Anton Marklund was unable to make the final himself in his Volkswagen.

“I am so proud of my team – to win this trophy with Olsbergs who have worked so hard all year is such a good feeling,” Nitiss told the World RX website.

OMSE also got a great performance today out of FIA RX Lites champion Kevin Eriksson, who finished third in his Supercar debut.

Eriksson competed Stateside in Red Bull GRC’s Lites category this year as well, and went runner-up in points there despite missing two events; he was the only driver to beat eventual champ Mitchell deJong in a GRC Lites final.

Timmy Hansen finished fourth in his Peugeot, followed by Toomas Heikkinen in fifth.