Sprint Cup champ Kevin Harvick was most-mentioned NASCAR driver on TV this year


One wonders if Budweiser, Jimmy John’s, and Outback Steakhouse are set to provide Kevin Harvick with a nice Christmas bonus.

Those major companies backed Harvick as he charged to the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship, and with Harvick being among the fastest drivers week in and week out, he got lots of television airtime for himself and his stable of sponsors.

Back in July, we told you Harvick was the most-mentioned driver on NASCAR TV broadcasts through the first half of the 2014 campaign. Now, Joyce Julius and Associates is reporting that he was the most-mentioned driver on TV throughout the entire season.

Harvick netted 5,740 TV mentions altogether in 2014, beating Jeff Gordon (5,094), Jimmie Johnson (4,830), Brad Keselowski (4,164), and Joey Logano (3,482).

Gordon, whose bid for a fifth Cup title ended in the Eliminator Round, led all drivers in total interview time on TV with one hour, 33 seconds’ worth of mic work. Dale Earnhardt Jr., knocked out of the Chase in the Contender Round, was second in that category (56 minutes, 32 seconds), and Harvick was third (53 minutes, 12 seconds).

Surprise Championship 4 contenders Denny Hamlin and Ryan Newman are listed eighth and 14th respectively in TV mentions. Newman himself is next-to-last among the Top 20 in interview time with his 13 minutes, 31 seconds, which only beat Marcos Ambrose (10 minutes, 50 seconds).

Considering Ambrose has gone back home to Australia and V8 Supercars, we figure he doesn’t care much about this.

Here’s how the year-end data looks…


IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold