NASCAR: Furniture Row, JR Motorsports announce new crew chiefs


Two quick crew chief bits of news from the world of NASCAR, for one team apiece in the Sprint Cup and XFINITY Series for 2015:

Martin Truex Jr. will have a new crew chief for the No. 78 Furniture Row Racing Chevrolet. Cole Pearn, just 32 and the team’s lead engineer, replaces Todd Berrier in the role.

“In an effort to continue to move the team forward we feel the personnel changes and new additions will yield positive results on the race track,” Joe Garone, FRR general manager, said in a release. “Cole has played a vital role in our growth. The well-rounded skill sets that be brings to the table in his new position as crew chief will he instrumental in our commitment to once again become a Chase participant.”

JR Motorsports has announced the official reveal of its crew chief lineup for its three-car XFINITY lineup.

With Greg Ives moving up to Sprint Cup to replace Steve Letarte as Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s crew chief, Nationwide champion Chase Elliott will now have Ernie Cope take over as his crew chief on the No. 9 NAPA Chevrolet.

Dave Elenz (No. 5, now 88) and Jason Burdett (No. 7), both formerly of Hendrick Motorsports, round out the lineup. Burdett will work on Regan Smith’s car with Elenz on the multi-driver No. 88 car, to be driven in 2015 by Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kevin Harvick and Kasey Kahne.