NASCAR: Gibbs announces crew chief shuffle (VIDEO)


Three of the four crew chiefs for Joe Gibbs Racing will switch cars in the 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, the team announced Thursday.

Darian Grubb, who had been crew chief for Denny Hamlin’s No. 11 FedEx Toyota Camry, will shift over to the new No. 19 ARRIS-backed entry driven by new JGR arrival Carl Edwards.

Dave Rogers, who had been on the box for Kyle Busch’s No. 18 M&Ms Toyota, will move laterally to replace Grubb as Hamlin’s crew chief.

Adam Stevens, who had worked with Busch’s No. 54 Monster Energy Toyota in the NASCAR Nationwide (now XFINITY) Series, comes up to Cup full-time as Busch’s new crew chief on the No. 18.

Meanwhile Jason Ratcliff, who has been Matt Kenseth’s crew chief on the No. 20 Dollar General Toyota since Kenseth joined the team at the start of 2013, remains.

Gibbs’ team announced all four crew chiefs for 2015 in September, but had not assigned the cars to each of them as yet.

The team’s XFINITY crew chief lineup has been released as well, below the Cup lineup.

IndyCar teams with NASCAR on IMS road course doubleheader in 2021

IndyCar NASCAR doubleheader 2021
Jamie Squire/Getty Images
Leave a comment

The NTT IndyCar Series will be sharing Indianapolis Motor Speedway with the NASCAR Cup Series in a race weekend doubleheader for the second consecutive season, but both series will be on the road course in August 2021.

IMS announced Wednesday that IndyCar will hold an Aug. 14, 2021 race on its 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. It’ll be a day before NASCAR’s premier series runs the same layout for the first time after the Brickyard 400 was contested on the 2.5-mile oval for the first time in 27 years.

This season’s rescheduling of the IndyCar GMR Grand Prix to July 4, 2019 (a day before the Brickyard 400) led to the first NASCAR-IndyCar doubleheader weekend. The Xfinity Series also raced on the IMS road course for the first time July 4 after the IndyCar race ended.

INDYCAR AT IMS THIS WEEKEND: Harvest GP schedule, entry lists

IndyCar will be holding its second race weekend this year at the IMS road course Friday and Saturday with the Harvest GP.

“Our first NASCAR-INDYCAR weekend was a big success last July, with positive feedback from
our loyal fans who watched the races on NBC and from the drivers, teams and participants
involved,” IMS president Douglas Boles said in a statement. “The Xfinity Series’ debut on the IMS road course provided exactly the kind of thrilling action from the green to checkered flags that we anticipated, so we know the teams and drivers of the Cup Series will put on a great show as they turn left and right for the first time at IMS.

“We can’t wait to welcome back fans to see NASCAR and INDYCAR together during this
exciting weekend as we add another memorable chapter in the long, storied history of the
Indianapolis Motor Speedway.”

It also will mark the first NASCAR Cup-IndyCar doubleheader with a crowd as fans weren’t permitted at IMS in July because of the novel coronvavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Over the course of Wednesday, NASCAR is releasing its 36-race slate for next season. IndyCar has yet to release its full 2021 schedule.