Frenchman Nico Jamin aims for 2015 USF2000 title with Cape Motorsports


Frenchman Nico Jamin got a late start in his racing career, not beginning until he was 14 years old.

But that hasn’t stopped Jamin from quickly climbing up through the racing ranks.

The now 19-year-old Jamin will take the next – and arguably biggest – step of his career, being named to race in the 2015 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship for Cape Motorsports with Wayne Taylor Racing, it was announced Saturday.

Jamin began racing karts in his native France and quickly rose through the French F4 and Formula Renault 2.0/NEC championships.

He finished ninth in the 2014 USF2000 championship, including a personal-best third-place finish in his first race in the series.

Now he moves to Cape Motorsports, which has won the last four USF2000 championships.

“Nico is a great addition to the team,” team owners Dominic and Nicholas Cape said in a media release. “He had a great rookie season, and we know he can win races in 2015. We are excited to have him on the team.”

The team is expected to announce a second driver in the coming weeks. Jamin is ready to get going.

“Cape Motorsports has proven these past four years that they are clearly the kings of USF2000,” Jamin said. “My goal for next year is clearly to claim the Championship. I’m coming for it, and I’ll do all my best to get it.

“Last year I learned every track, the car, the rolling start and oval racing – things that were new for me. I worked a lot this winter to be ready to compete for the championship.”

The USF2000 season starts March 28th at St. Petersburg, Fla.

Follow me @JerryBonkowski

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.