Highlights from last Friday’s FIA Prize Giving Ceremony in Qatar


Formula One’s standard mix of glitz and glamour featured an added Arabian flair last Friday night as the FIA honored its main champions in the 2014 Prize-Giving Ceremony from Doha, Qatar.

On the heels of his title-clinching victory in Abu Dhabi, Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton was officially awarded his second F1 World Championship trophy while his boss, Toto Wolff, was handed the constructor’s championship.

Also honored from F1 were Hamilton’s teammate, Nico Rosberg, for his runner-up performance in the standings; Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo, who finished third behind the Silver Arrows; and future Red Bull pilot Daniil Kyvat, who earned the Rookie of the Year award for his work in 2014 with Scuderia Toro Rosso.

Other champions from across various FIA disciplines were also recognized, including World Endurance Championship driver’s co-titlists Sebastien Buemi and Anthony Davidson, FIA World Touring Car Champ Jose Maria Lopez, and FIA World Rallycross Champion Petter Solberg.

An F1-centric video of highlights from the evening has now been put up on the series’ official website. You can check out the clip here.