NASCAR: Kevin Harvick voted 2014 Driver of the Year


Kevin Harvick’s run to the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship has earned him the 2014 Driver of the Year Award, voted on by a panel of American motorsports broadcasters and journalists.

Harvick, who won the final two races of the season to seal his first Cup title, earned 13 of the 16 votes cast by the panel (which each voted in a secret ballot for a single driver).

Verizon IndyCar Series champion Will Power, NASCAR Nationwide Series champion Chase Elliott, and World of Outlaws champion Donny Schatz each received a single vote.

This marks the sixth consecutive season that a NASCAR driver has won the prestigious award, which was founded in 1967 to honor the best American drivers.

Jimmie Johnson received 12 of the 16 votes in winning the DOTY last year following his sixth career Cup title.

“It’s quite an honor and goes with the respect of the media,” Harvick said in a release. “Any time you gain that [respect], it has something to do with performance obviously as well…I’m pretty excited about it. It’s a great honor.”

DOTY president Barry Schmoyer added that “Harvick was destined to be a Sprint Cup champion – it was not a question of if, but when.”

“His performance on and off the track makes him a deserving Driver of the Year,” he said.

Additionally, Harvick also won the 4th Quarter DOTY award for his efforts, beating out NHRA stars Erica Enders-Stevens and Tony Schumacher in a points-based ballot.

Schumacher himself is the last non-NASCAR driver to win the yearly DOTY, which he accomplished in 2008.