Max Verstappen to run No. 33 for his F1 career

1 Comment

Scuderia Toro Rosso rookie Max Verstappen, who will set a record as the youngest driver in Formula One history when he starts the 2015 Australian Grand Prix at age 17, will have a car number almost double that when he lines up in Melbourne.

The young Dutchman will wear No. 33 next year and for the entirety of his Grand Prix career. He announced the move on Friday.

It is funny to note how in the tweet, Verstappen says “Since I was a young kid,” when he is still very much a young kid – albeit a very talented one at that.

Although, to Verstappen’s credit, he poked fun at it when asked by GP3 and sometimes FIA World Endurance Championship driver Richie Stanaway’s joke asking if the picture was from last year.

Verstappen’s teammate, fellow first-year driver Carlos Sainz Jr., has already announced he will use No. 55.

The Verstappen number announcement means only the third confirmed 2015 rookie Felipe Nasr, the Brazilian who will join Sauber next year, is yet to confirm his number choice.

Nasr ran 40 as Williams’ third driver in his selected free practice one outings next year, but will need to select a different number when he lines up alongside Marcus Ericsson next season.

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold