Veteran crew chief Todd Parrott to oversee RCR Xfinity Series efforts

1 Comment

Veteran crew chief Todd Parrott has been named Competition Director for Richard Childress Racing’s Xfinity Series teams, the organization announced Saturday.

Parrott, who has served as a crew chief in the Sprint Cup Series for more than 20 years, will begin his new duties immediately, overseeing the Xfinity Series teams of Brian Scott, Ty Dillon, Brendan Gaughan and Austin Dillon in 2015.

“This is an incredible opportunity for me and I am looking forward to working with RCR’s XFINITY Series drivers, crew chiefs, Dr. Warren (RCR Director of Competition Dr. Eric Warren) and everyone involved with the team,” Parrott said in a team media release. “I have known Richard Childress and Mike Dillon for many years and our families go back a long time.

“They already have a solid program and it’s now up to me to take the ball and run with it for next year. I’m looking forward to the challenges that lie ahead, winning several races and adding another championship for the organization.”

As a Sprint Cup crew chief, Parrott oversaw several drivers across 606 starts, winding up with 31 wins, 144 top-5 and 230 top-10 finishes, as well as 23 pole awards.

His drivers also finished in the top-5 six different seasons., including winning it all in 1999 when Dale Jarrett captured the Sprint Cup championship for Robert Yates Racing.

“I worked with Todd for several years at a prior team and I have never met a more passionate person when it comes to working hard and winning races,” Warren said. “Todd is organized and has great instincts about how to get performance out of both cars and teams.

“He is a proven winner with championship talent and has always overachieved with every team for whom he’s worked.”

Parrott, 50, followed in the footsteps of his father, Buddy, who won 49 races in 511 Sprint Cup starts as a crew chief.

Follow me @JerryBonkowski