IMSA: Hand joins Ganassi’s Riley-Ford DP program


Joey Hand will set out for a new career path with Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates, having been confirmed to the team’s No. 01 Riley-Ford for the 2015 TUDOR United SportsCar Championship season.

Hand leaves his longtime manufacturer partner BMW for Ford, and will join Scott Pruett in the Ford EcoBoost-sponsored entry.

“In all honesty, I’ve wanted to drive for this team since I was a little kid,” Hand said in a release. “I’m excited about my long-term future here and what we can potentially accomplish together as sports car racing continues to grow.”

Added Pruett, a fellow Sacramento, Calif. native and one of sports car racing’s living legends, “Now we begin a new chapter with the addition of Joey and our growing relationship with Ford. It all started for me with Ford back in the day and I’m thrilled to have them expand their partnership on our Prototype program.

“Joey and I literally grew up about 30 miles from each other in California. His previous experience with the team is invaluable, in that we know what he brings to the table and which should allow us to begin the season strong.”

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.