NASCAR Canadian Tire Series 2015 schedule released


There may snow on the ground and freezing temperatures in the air, but racers and race fans north of the border are already thinking racing season in 2015.

NASCAR on Thursday announced the 11-race schedule for the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1. The series stretches from Alberta to Nova Scotia, covering five provinces, seven oval tracks and four road courses.

“The NASCAR Canadian Tire Series is the national series of Canada, and this schedule once again gives fans from across the country a chance to catch the exciting competition,” said George Silbermann, NASCAR vice president for regional and touring series. “The series will once again visit many of the premiere racing facilities Canada has to offer.”

The season opens at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park (CTMP) in Bowmanville, Ontario on May 17 and ends four months later on Sept. 19 at Kawartha Speedway in Fraserville, Ont.

The series will once again be part of the big race weekend on Aug. 30 at CTMP that features the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race.

L.P. Dumoulin, of Quebec, Canada, is the defending NCTS champion from the 2014 season.

Here’s the 2015 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series schedule:

May 17, Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, Bowmanville, Ont.

June 13, Autodrome Chaudiere Valle-Jonction, Quebec.

July 5, Circuit ICAR, Mirabel, Que.

July 11, Edmonton International Raceway, Wetaskiwin, Alberta.

July 15, Auto Clearing Motor Speedway, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

July 25, Autodrome St-Eustache, St-Eustache, Quebec.

August 2, Circuit de Trois-Rivieres Trois-Rivieres, Quebec.

August 15, Riverside International Speedway, Antigonish, Nova Scotia.

August 30, Canadian Tire Motorsport Park, Bowmanville, Ont.

Sept. 12, Barrie Speedway, Barrie, Ont.

Sept. 19, Kawartha Speedway, Fraserville, Ont.

Follow me @JerryBonkowski