Felipe Nasr goes with 12 for his F1 car number


The 2015 Formula One grid is complete from a numerology standpoint, as Sauber rookie Felipe Nasr has identified his new car number of 12 for next season and beyond.

His choice of 12 joins fellow rookies Max Verstappen (33), Carlos Sainz Jr. (55) and four-time World Champion Sebastian Vettel (5) as adding new car numbers to the grid.

Current World Champion Lewis Hamilton expects to keep his No. 44 rather than adopt the champion’s No. 1 next season.

Here’s the design of Nasr’s number:

And here’s the full rundown of car numbers by numerical order next season. Caterham’s participation is still to be determined:

3 Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull-Renault
5 Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
6 Nico Rosberg, Mercedes
7 Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari
8 Romain Grosjean, Lotus-Mercedes
9 Marcus Ericsson, Sauber-Ferrari
11 Sergio Perez, Force India-Mercedes
12 Felipe Nasr, Sauber-Ferrari
13 Pastor Maldonado, Lotus-Mercedes
14 Fernando Alonso, McLaren-Honda
19 Felipe Massa, Williams-Mercedes
22 Jenson Button, McLaren-Honda
26 Daniil Kvyat, Red Bull-Renault
27 Nico Hulkenberg, Force India-Mercedes
33 Max Verstappen, Toro Rosso-Renault
44 Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
55 Carlos Sainz Jr., Toro Rosso-Renault
77 Valtteri Bottas, Williams-Mercedes

Santino Ferrucci will drive No. 14 for AJ Foyt Racing full time in 2023 IndyCar season

Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt
James Gilbert/Getty Images

Santino Ferrucci will return to full-time racing in the NTT IndyCar Series next season, joining AJ Foyt Racing.

Ferrucci had made eight IndyCar starts with three teams since his last full-time season in 2020 while also racing part time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series this year.

He will drive the storied No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet for four-time Indy 500 winner A.J. Foyt’s team, which will field the car from its Waller, Texas headquarters.

“It’s incredibly exciting to be back in the INDYCAR Series full time,” Ferrucci said in a team release. “Being a part-time driver over the last two years has been hard for me, personally. I’m a race car driver, and I want to compete. Working with different teams has been exciting, and I’m proud that no matter which car I’ve raced, I’ve always shown speed and consistency. I couldn’t be more excited to join AJ Foyt Racing in the 14 Chevy. I can’t wait to make the best of it.”

Ferrucci, 24, had finished a career-best fourth in IndyCar four times, including the 104th Indy 500 in 2020. He was the 2019 Indy 500 rookie of the year with a sixth.

In nine Xfinity starts since 2021, Ferrucci has a career-best finish of 13th at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

“I am thrilled to welcome Santino to the team,” Larry Foyt said in a release. “He’s shown a knack for getting toward the front of the field, and I think he is a racer who moves forward on race day. A.J. sees the fire in him and has enjoyed their meetings together. I think Santino’s experience will help his rookie teammate as well, so he is a great addition to our roster.”

Ferrucci will be teamed at AJ Foyt Racing with Benjamin Pedersen, who finished fifth in the 2022 Indy Lights standings. The team has yet to specify the number for Pedersen’s entry, which will be fielded out of its Indianapolis race shop.

Foyt’s two full-time drivers last season were Dalton Kellett and Kyle Kirkwood, who is moving to Andretti Autosport.