NASCAR: Report says Kyle Busch Motorsports sued by former competition director


Kyle Busch Motorsports is now reportedly dealing with a $390,000 lawsuit from its former competition director, Rick Ren, who was released by KBM following the demise of its NASCAR XFINITY Series program at the end of the 2013 season.

A piece from Bob Pockrass of the Sporting News says that Ren (pictured, right, with Busch in 2010) filed the lawsuit last month in North Carolina Superior Cournt (Statesville, N.C.).

In the suit, Ren and his consulting firm allege that KBM owes them $35,000 in bonus money from 2012 and $355,000 in commissions for securing a pair of team sponsorship programs.

Ren states in the suit that his contract required that he be paid a 10 percent commission on any sponsorship he landed for KBM.

He also claims that he was responsible for a $3 million deal with Central Kentucky Angus Sales to help Parker Kligerman (now an analyst for NASCAR on NBC) race for KBM in the 2013 XFINITY Series, and another $550,000 deal with Sabala Whitetail to back Brian Scott in several NASCAR Camping World Truck Series races in 2012.

As you’d figure, KBM’s attorney, Adam Ross, has denied the allegations. He tells Pockrass the original contract that Ren is referring to in his suit had already been amended with a new compensation structure.

Ross adds that there are “multiple other reasons” why KBM feels it owes Ren nothing and that he would “vigorously defend what my client believes to be a frivolous lawsuit.”

After axing its NXS program, KBM has continued on with its Camping World Truck Series operations. The team captured its second consecutive owner’s title in the Truck Series last year.

Mike Tirico and Danica Patrick team up again on NBC’s Indy 500 coverage

Danica Patrick Mike Tirico
Stephen King/IndyCar
Leave a comment

Mike Tirico and Danica Patrick will return to NBC Sports’ coverage of the Indianapolis 500, which will be broadcast Aug. 23 at 1 p.m. ET on NBC (green flag at 2:30 p.m.).

Tirico and Patrick, who both joined NBC Sports for its inaugural coverage of the event last year, will reprise their roles as host and studio analyst.

One of the most versatile voices in sports, Tirico also hosts NBC Olympics’ primetime coverage, Football Night in America and many other premier events, including hosting on-site at Indianapolis Motor Speedway earlier this year for the first-ever IndyCar-NASCAR crossover weekend.

AT THE BRICKYARD: Daily Indy 500 coverage schedule on NBC, NBCSN

He again will be joined during prerace, in-race, and postrace coverage by Patrick, who became the first woman to lead the Indy 500 in 2005 and also was the first female pole-sitter in NASCAR driver.

They will make their debut together duing practice coverage on Aug. 21, on NBCSN.

“My first Indy 500 last year exceeded my very high expectations in every way,” Tirico said in a release. “Although this year’s race will take place under unprecedented circumstances, I can’t wait to get back to Indy. I’m confident that our team at the Brickyard will provide viewers with as exciting a viewing experience as possible. I am also thrilled that Danica Patrick is along for the ride again this year. We had such a great time last May and look forward to bringing Indy home for the viewers again.”

Said Patrick: “The Indianapolis 500 is an event that transcends mainstream and motorsports which is why it’s so special. We are living during a time that if we can bring people together, we should. Even if it’s not physically. I am honored to be back with the NBC Sports team and Mike Tirico. The memories I have from 15 years at IMS hold such a special place in my heart and I can’t wait to make more this year in the booth, or however we are positioned in 2020!”

This will mark NBC Sports’ second season as the exclusive home of the NTT IndyCar Series, including the Indianapolis 500, which will take place in August for the first time ever because of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.