Indy Lights has first official series test today, Wednesday at PBIR


The Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires series will have its first official all-car test with its new Dallara IL15 chassis today and tomorrow at Palm Beach International Raceway in Jupiter, Fla.

It’s a bit delayed for Indy Lights – the test was originally scheduled for December before it was pushed back, with series officials citing a need for more engine production – but all set to go nonetheless.

The first test will only feature eight cars, which isn’t much and also unrepresentative of the expected car count for the year once more of the new teams confirm more of their lineups.

Five teams are entering the eight cars. Here they are:

  • Belardi Auto Racing: 4-Felix Serralles
  • Schmidt Peterson Motorsports: 7-RC Enerson, 71-Ethan Ringel, 77-Jack Harvey
  • 8Star Motorsports: 8-Scott Hargrove
  • Juncos Racing: 12-Spencer Pigot, 18-Kyle Kaiser
  • Andretti Autosport: 51-Shelby Blackstock

Of these eight cars testing, only Hargrove is not yet confirmed for the full season. But this is the second straight test for the Canadian, which is a promising development for him.

Additional cars are expected from Belardi, SPM and Andretti for the season itself beyond their already confirmed drivers, and also the new Carlin Racing team has already confirmed Ed Jones as its first driver.

Team Moore Racing, which received its first car just before the end of 2014, will not be present at this test. There are a number of other teams which have announced entries but not confirmed any further details.

Lastly, Juan Piedrahita, who drove for SPM last season, has posted on social media he has a ride lined up. The Colombian would be a rare returning driver to the championship.

Here’s the schedule for today’s action, via Juncos Racing.