Cooper Webb grabs 250SX victory with aggressive last-lap pass at Anaheim II Supercross


One week after earning his first-career Supercross victory in the 250 Class, Cooper Webb took the checkered flag once again Saturday at Anaheim, turning in an incredible ride.

Webb got off to a poor start in the main event, leaving him 12th after the first lap while Zach Osborne and points leader Jessy Nelson did battle out front. Nelson passed Osborne to grab the race lead but threw it away on Lap 8 after clipping his rear tire on the over/under jump and crashing. With Nelson losing several spots, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Tyler Bowers inherited the top spot and looked to be in position to win the race and take possession of the points lead.

Meanwhile, Webb continued his charge through the field and by the final lap of the race, the Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rider was up to second place and hot on the heels of Bowers. With the checkered flag nearly in sight, Bowers went high on one of the final turns and left the door open for Webb to make an aggressive pass for the lead. Webb dove inside of Bowers, making enough contact to send him into the tuff blocks and off the track.

Bowers recovered to finish in second, while Webb cruised to his second-straight victory. Red Bull KTM’s Justin Hill rounded out the podium.

Known to have a propensity for aggressive riding of his own, Bowers did not take issue with Webb’s pass after the race. In fact, the two training partners even praised each other’s racing when all was said and done.

Saturday night’s events also led to a shakeup in the 250SX point standings. Nelson will give up the points lead to Webb, who now holds a 4-point edge on both Nelson and Bowers and will run the red plate next week in Oakland for the first time in his career.

Anaheim II 250SX Results
1. Cooper Webb
2. Tyler Bowers (-6.1 seconds)
3. Justin Hill
4. Zach Osborne
5. Malcolm Stewart

250SX Point Standings
1. Cooper Webb, 64
2. Jessy Nelson, 60
3. Tyler Bowers, 60
4. Zach Osborne, 54
5. Justin Hill, 53