Hendrick, Childress, Ganassi, Pruett among nominees for Motorsports Hall of Fame of America induction


Seven icons from the world of motorsports will be named to the 2015 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America induction class on Friday, prior to the start of the Rolex 24 at Daytona International Speedway.

The 27th annual MHFA induction ceremony will take place June 18 at the Fillmore Theater in Detroit.

Here’s the list of those eligible and what class of motorsport they’re from:

NASCAR: Championship owners Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick and Jack Roush, two-time Cup champ Terry Labonte, Davey Allison and veteran driver Mark Martin.

NHRA drag racing: Six-time Pro Stock champion Warren Johnson, longtime announcer Dave McClelland, Funny Car pioneers Paula Murphy and Gene Snow, Strange Engineering’s boss Bob Stange, and Tom Hoover, father of the Chrysler 426 Hemi.

Open-Wheel: Veteran driver and race official Wally Dallenbach, nine-time IndyCar Series team owner Chip Ganassi, championship team owner Carl Haas, safety pioneer and innovative designer Ted Halibrand, three-time Indianapolis 500 winning team owner Pat Patrick and veteran Indy 500 competitor Lloyd Ruby.

Sports Car Racing: team owner Rob Dyson, four-time Trans Am champ Tommy Kendall, racer/broadcaster Sam Posey, five-time 24 Hours of Daytona champ Scott Pruett, Scarab designer/builder Phil Remington and driver/founder of the “Group 44” teams, Bob Tullius.

Motorcycles: 15-time AMA Grand National race winner Everett Brashear, 10-time Motocross champ Ricky Carmichael, dirt track racer Neil Keen, three-time Daytona 200 winner Dick Klamfoth and two-time World Superbike champ Fred Merkel.

Historic Category: 1950 AAA National Champion Henry Banks, first NASCAR champion Red Byron, 1963 Daytona 500 winner Tiny Lund, Michigan racing legend Duke Nalon, mechanic/car builder Ray Nichels and midget/sprint car driver Bob Sweikert.

At Large: “Miss Hurst Golden Shifter” Linda Vaughn, off-road champions Walker Evans and Ivan “Iron Man” Stewart, General Motors Racing’s Herb Fishel, late NASCAR vice president of corporate communications Jim Hunter and auto writer/Cannonball Run founder Brock Yates.

Follow me @JerryBonkowski

Travis Pastrana leads flag-to-flag in Nitro Rallycross as the series returns to America

Pastrana Nitro Rallycross
Barry Chin / Getty Images

Travis Pastrana waited until the final trip around ERX Motor Park to take his Joker Lap – a longer way around the course that all drivers must do at least once in a race – and came out cleanly to win his first Nitro Rallycross race of 2022. With this win, Pastrana is the third driver to visit Victory Lane in the first three rounds of the 2022-23 season.

“This is the closest to a motocross track,” Pastrana told Katie Osborne on Peacock. “Thank you so much for a beautiful facility. It’s been a rough start to the season and I’m so thankful to be back out here. We had a good run in the side-by-side and now for this. This is much needed.”

Another thing needed was the sense of improvement. And Pastrana earned that affirmation each time he completed a lap around the course.

“I get my lap times read out and they said ‘fastest time of the week,’ ‘fastest time of the week’ (each time around) ” Pastrana said. “This is really special. We’re a long way behind in the championship, but welcome to America.”

In a pre-race press conference, Pastrana said that as Nitro Rallycross heads back to America, it was time for an American to win and he made good on his promise. Pastrana took the early lead over Robin Larsson and let the back of his Subaru hang out, taking risks he might not otherwise take if not for his need to win.

How to Watch Nitro Rallycross

Larsson’s second-place finish completed a perfect sweep of the podium in three rounds. In fact, he has not yet finished worse than second after winning the opening round at Lydden Hill in the United Kingdom and finishing second at Strangnas in Sweeden.

Fraser McConnel rounded out the podium for his best result of the season. He finished fourth in each of the first two rounds.

Last year, Pastrana finished second in this race to Scott Speed before narrowly edging his teammate for the championship.

Andreas Bakkerud crashed in prelims, but rebounded to finish just off the block in fourth. Bakkerud won the second round ahead of his teammate Larsson.

Oliver Bennett completed the top five.

Minneapolis is the first of three rounds scheduled in the United States. Next on the schedule is Glen Helen, Calif. on Octo 30 and then Phoenix at Wild Horse Pass on November 12th. Nitro Rallycross will then head to Saudi Arabia in December to continue their 2022-23 season.