Report: Michael Annett leaves Tommy Baldwin Racing, headed to HScott Motorsports


According to a report by respected NASCAR broadcaster Dave Moody, Michael Annett has left Tommy Baldwin Racing and will become a second driver for the fledgling HScott Motorsports team on the Sprint Cup Series in 2015.

Citing “multiple sources,” Moody stated in his “Godfather’s Blog” that Annett will also take his Pilot/Flying J sponsorship with him to his new home.

Annett is expected to race the full 36-race Sprint Cup schedule with teammate Justin Allgaier on the former Phoenix Racing team, Moody noted.

Annett had a rough rookie season in 2014, finishing 33rd in the season standings while behind the wheel of Baldwin’s No. 7 Chevrolet. His best finish was in the spring race at Talladega, where he wound up 16th.

Moody said Annett and a team spokesman both declined comment on the report.

Follow me @JerryBonkowski

Conor Daly honors friend killed Saturday amid Indianapolis unrest

Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

IndyCar driver Conor Daly posted a poignant tribute to Chris Beaty, a former Indiana University football player and Indianapolis business owner who was killed Saturday amid protests and rioting in the city.

Daly said he got to know Beaty, who owned an event and marketing promotions company, five years ago when he was organizing Indianapolis 500 afterparties.

Daly annually had been involved in Beaty’s parties since then and said Beaty helped get him home earlier this year when Daly’s blood sugar crashed while at an event.

TAKING A STAND: Lewis Hamilton speaks out on racial strife

“The world lost a tremendous person. RIP Chris Beaty,” wrote Daly, who also tweeted “The violence has to stop.”

According to the Indianapolis Star, Beaty died after suffering multiple gunshot wounds during Saturday night’s unrest in downtown Indianapolis. It’s unclear if the shooting was tied to the protests.

Graham Rahal also posted about his interaction with Beaty.

Daly, Rahal and the rest of the IndyCar Series will return to action Saturday night at Texas Motor Speedway (8 p.m. ET, NBC).