IndyCar, NASCAR crews in good starting positions for Rolex 24


Qualifying for a 24-hour race is essentially meaningless, but that doesn’t mean it’s a bad thing to start up front.

Such is the case for the full-time Verizon IndyCar Series and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers competing in the 53rd Rolex 24 at Daytona this weekend.

AJ Allmendinger will share the overall polesitting No. 60 Michael Shank Racing Ligier JS P2 Honda, with polesitter Ozz Negri and other co-drivers John Pew and Matt McMurry.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s six combined IndyCar/NASCAR/development drivers are second and third on the grid. The No. 02 Riley-Ford (Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Jamie McMurray, Kyle Larson) edged the No. 01 (Scott Pruett, Joey Hand, Charlie Kimball, Sage Karam) in qualifying.

Sebastien Bourdais will start fourth in the No. 5 Action Express Racing Corvette DP. Indy Lights champion Gabby Chaves is part of the lineup in the DeltaWing coupe, which starts fifth.

Indy 500 driver James Davison scored the GT Daytona pole position in the No. 007 TRG-AMR Aston Martin Vantage GT3. Simon Pagenaud will be part of the lineup that won the pole in GT Le Mans, with co-driver Oliver Gavin snatching the top spot in the No. 4 Corvette C7.R.

Here’s the full grid, so you can find your favorite driver. Meanwhile others of note will start as follows:

  • Ryan Hunter-Reay in P8 (No. 7 Starworks Motorsport Riley-Dinan BMW, Prototype)
  • Simon Pagenaud in P1 (No. 4 Corvette Racing Corvette C7.R, GT Le Mans)
  • Graham Rahal in P4 (No. 24 BMW Team RLL BMW Z4 GTE, GT Le Mans)
  • Ryan Briscoe in P5 (No. 3 Corvette Racing Corvette C7.R, GT Le Mans)
  • Jack Hawksworth in P7 (No. 11 RSR Racing Oreca FLM09, Prototype Challenge)