More bad news for Dodge Hellcat: Trounced by all-electric Tesla in drag race


When we first heard about the Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat (and its sister, the Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat), we were pretty excited.

Both versions of the Hellcat are the fastest factory-produced street cars in the U.S., clocking in with 707 horsepower.

That’s only about 40 horsepower less than what’s under the hood of a NASCAR Sprint Cup car.

But for all the buzz and excitement that preceded the Hellcat, let’s just say things aren’t going quite the way Dodge may have hoped – in at least two instances.

First there was the guy in Colorado who, just one hour after leaving the dealership with a brand new $60,000 Hellcat Challenger, lost control of it and totaled it on a rural country road northeast of Denver.

MORE: Driver wrecks Hellcat one hour after buying it from dealer

Remember this?

(Photo courtesy Facebook via

Now comes a report out of Florida’s Palm Beach International Raceway, where a Hellcat was trounced last Sunday in a drag race by – get this – an all-ELECTRIC Tesla S P85D!

Oh, trust me, the news gets worse for Hellcat and Mopar fans. The fine folks at, who put on the event, told the whole story.

Not only did the Hellcat spin its tires – too much gas and too little traction – at the starting line, the Tesla set a new world record as the quickest and fastest electric-powered production car, covering the quarter-mile in 11.6 seconds at 114.6 mph.

Both marks were certified as world records by the National Electric Drag Racing Association.

Admittedly, the Tesla was helped by the Dodge spinning its tires. But the Tesla is also no shirk in the horsepower department: its two electric motors combine for a rather stout 691 horsepower under the hood.

The Hellcat driver finally got going and ended up covering the quarter-mile at over 82 mph. Heck, people go faster than that on the freeway.

According to, the Hellcat driver had an excuse: It was his first time at PBIR, as well as his first time driving the potent supercharged Hemi-powered car on a dragstrip.

Both cars are due to return to PBIR in the next few weeks for a rematch. Can the Tesla make it 2-for-2, or will the Hellcat driver learn how to control all that power and potentially come close to hitting 200 mph?

Follow me @JerryBonkowski

Andretti United team names drivers for inaugural Extreme E season

Extreme E drivers Andretti
Extreme E
Leave a comment

The Extreme E team formed by Andretti Autosport and United Autosports named Catie Munnings and Timmy Hansen as its drivers Monday for the series’ inaugural 2021 season.

Munnings is a successful veteran of rally series. Hansen is a past winner and champion in the World Rallycross Championship.

They both will race in the environmentally conscious electric SUV series that will hold events in five areas around the world that are threatened by climate change. Chip Ganassi Racing and six-time Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton also are fielding cars in Extreme E, which will feature male and female co-drivers on every team.

Catie Munnings

“I’m so excited to join Andretti United Extreme E,” Munnings said in a release. ““I was really intrigued when I first heard about Extreme E, I just knew I had to be involved. The male / female racing partnership is a fantastic and exciting new concept. The season has incredible locations and the racing will be very exciting. It will be a new challenge for the teams and drivers, and I’m so thrilled to be working with such a strong team.

“The championship is a really innovative concept, it’s combining motorsport and science and will produce an important legacy in each race location. Bringing the platform that motorsport has in line with the awareness that the planet needs right now is awesome and a really important message.”

Timmy Hansen

Said Hansen: “Going into the Extreme E will be a new chapter in my career, one that I am extremely excited about. It is something brand new, not only for me, but the whole of motorsport. The format is something

we’ve never seen before. I’m also delighted to be able to carry the message of something bigger – talking about the environment and doing something good for the world – that’s something that really drives me. It’s going to be a big adventure in life to see these locations and I’m going to do my best in carrying this responsibility and hopefully making people aware of the challenges we have in the world, together with our passion for racing.”