Motorsports Hall of Fame of America announces 2015 class of inductees

1 Comment

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America has announced its 2015 class of inductees.

On Thursday, June 18, Ricky Carmichael, Walker Evans, Warren Johnson, Tommy Kendall, Mark Martin, Duke Nalon and Lloyd Ruby will be inducted at Detroit’s historic Fillmore Theater.

They’re the last class to be inducted with the MHOF in Detroit, before the HoF relocates to its new home in Daytona International Speedway.

Kendall and Carmichael were on hand in Daytona on Friday for the announcement.

“A lot of the names on this year’s hall of fame are heroes of mine,” Kendall said. “[Being on the same list] doesn’t really compute. I’ve been lucky to have good things happen during my career. To be mentioned with names like that … at the end of the day it’s nice to be recognized for the work you did.”

Added Carmichael, widely recognized as the “GOAT” – Greatest Of All-Time – in the motorcycle world, “I am honored and humbled to be inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America. As a kid growing up racing dirt bikes I would have thought something like this was possible for me. To be in the company of some of the greatest names in motorsports is surreal. As you look at all of the great athletes and people that are in the Hall of Fame, it is hard for me to believe that I will be included among names like Ward, Hannah, Earnhardt, Petty or Garlits. This recognition is truly an honor.”