NASCAR: Kyle Busch Motorsports responds to Rick Ren lawsuit


Kyle Busch Motorsports has responded to the recent lawsuit filed by former team competition director Rick Ren according to a report from Bob Pockrass of the Sporting News.

Pockrass writes that as part of KBM’s response to the suit in North Carolina Superior Court, a contract with Ren was filed. The contract says Ren was paid $300,000 his first year (2010), then $325,000 his second year (2011).

On top of that, he got guaranteed bonuses for both of those years and a 10 percent cut on all sponsorships he got for the team.

Following two years under the original deal, Ren signed an extension that paid him $242,500 per year in 2012 and 2013, with a potential $75,000 in bonuses.

KBM released Ren following the 2013 season after the team was forced to shut down its NASCAR XFINITY Series program due to lack of funds. KBM has continued with its program in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

Ren alleges that he and his consulting firm are owed $35,000 in bonus money and another $355,000 in commissions from landing a pair of sponsorships for the team – one in 2013 worth $3 million for driver Parker Kligerman and another in 2012 worth $550,000 for driver Brian Scott.

However, per Pockrass, KBM says in its response that Kligerman and Scott got the funding themselves – and all Ren did was take the initial phone calls and then close the deals.

The team also says that those phone calls do not fall under a contract stipulation that says Ren must “procure” the sponsorship to get the commissions.

As for the bonus $35,000, KBM says that’s not applicable due to the bonus structure of Ren’s revised contract that went into effect at the start of the 2012 season.

Barber IndyCar iRacing results

Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Scott McLaughlin led the final six laps Saturday and finished 0.4241 seconds ahead of teammate Will Power to win the Honda IndyCar Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park.

Scott Speed finished third behind the Team Penske drivers. Alex Palou and Simon Pagenaud rounded out the top five.

Click here for the full boxscore from Saturday’s IndyCar iRacing event at Barber Motorsports Park.

WINNER: Scott McLaughlin holds off teammate Will Power

WHAT DRIVERS SAID: Postrace reactions on social media

Other notable finishers:

Colton Herta (seventh), Robert Wickens (eighth), Jimmie Johnson (12th), Graham Rahal (14th), Alexander Rossi (22nd).

Sage Karam led a race-high 24 laps but retired from the 45-lap event because of a crash and finished 27th of 29 drivers.