Cast your vote: Which SHR driver will improve most in ’15?

1 Comment

While Kevin Harvick ended 2014 with his first career Sprint Cup championship, success was in limited to little supply for his three Stewart-Haas Racing teammates.

Kurt Busch won a race at Martinsville that got him into the Chase for the Sprint Cup, but he made a quick exit after the first round — due mostly to the sub-par season he had other than that one win.

Danica Patrick finished 28th, which was one spot lower in the championship standings than she finished in her rookie season in 2013. However, that 28th place finish is deceiving, as Patrick did show improvement in a number of areas through the course of the 2014 campaign.

And then there was team co-owner Tony Stewart. He began the season still far from fully recovered from the sprint car race in Iowa in August 2013 that resulted in multiple fractures of his right leg and forced him to miss the final 15 races of that 2013 season

Stewart had one of the worst, if not the worst, seasons in his Sprint Cup career. Not only did he finish 25th in the standings, he failed to make the Chase, including failing to even win a race for the first time in a season in that storied career.

And then there was the Kevin Ward tragedy and the aftermath that Stewart had to go through.

All three drivers on Tuesday predicted they will all have better seasons in 2015.

So we thought we’d ask you, NASCAR fans, who do you think will be the most improved SHR driver in 2015.

Cast your vote below:

April 9 in Motorsports History: Al Unser Jr. gets sixth Long Beach win

Leave a comment

The list of winners in the Grand Prix of Long Beach is a ‘who’s who’ of open-wheel racing.

Mario Andretti won at the famed street course four times. His son Michael won there twice.

Paul Tracy is also a four-time winner at the beach. Alex Zanardi, Juan Pablo Montoya, Sebastien Bourdais, and Alexander Rossi also have won at the famed course multiple times.

But there is only one “King of the Beach”: Al Unser Jr.

The winningest driver in the race’s history, Unser won at Long Beach four consecutive times from 1988-91. He won again in 1994 and entered the 1995 edition as the race’s defending champion and the defending CART champion as well.

Starting fourth, Unser made slight contact with Gil de Ferran when he passed the Brazilian on Lap 3. He then continued to move up to the front, taking the race lead from Teo Fabi on Lap 30.

Once he had the lead, Unser ran away from the field, winning by more than 23 seconds over Scott Pruett.

Unser’s victory was such a familiar scene that after the race, CART news manager John Procida began the winner’s news conference with the following statement: “Well, we have a very familiar face on the top rung of the podium. As we listed on the prerace press release, this seems to be the Al Unser Invitational.”

Indeed it was. Unser’s victory was his sixth at Long Beach, and the 28th of his career. overall. While it would be his last win there, Unser continued to race at Long Beach through 1998 before missing 1999 with a broken leg and moving to the Indy Racing Leauge in 2000.

In 2009, Unser was inducted into the Long Beach Motorsports Walk of Fame, which honors significant contributors to the race and California motorsports community.

“It truly is just an honor to be mentioned with the names and the legends that have already been put into the sidewalk,” Unser said during the induction ceremony. “To have Brian (Redman, the inaugural winner of the race) and Parnelli (Jones) is really an honor and just to be in their company is very, very special.”

Also on this date:

1971: Jacques Villeneuve was born in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada. The second-generation driver was one of the best in open-wheel racing during the 1990s, winning the Indianapolis 500 and CART championship in ’95 and becoming a Formula One champion two years later.

1989: Rick Mears dominated CART’s Checker Autoworks 200 at Phoenix International Raceway, leading every lap from the pole and lapping the field.

2011: Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas won the Porsche 250 at Barber Motorsports Park, their sixth consecutive victory in Grand Am competition. Their lengthy win streak, which started on Aug. 7, 2010 at Watkins Glen, prompted Grand Am to offer a $25,000 bounty for any Daytona Prototype team that could beat the dominant duo. The Action Express trio of Joao Barbosa, J.C. France, and Terry Borcheller finally unseated Pruett and Rojas in the series’ next round at Virginia International Raceway.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter @michaele1994