Start times for 2015 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races


After revealing its 2015 national series schedules last summer, NASCAR has today released the start times for all 36 Sprint Cup points races plus Daytona 500 preliminaries such as the Sprint Unlimited, ‘500’ qualifying, and the Budweiser Duel; the Sprint All-Star Race; and the All-Star Race’s own preliminary event, the Sprint Showdown.

NBC-TV and NBCSN will broadcast the second half of the Cup schedule starting with the Coke Zero 400 on July 5 at Daytona International Speedway. 13 races will be shown on NBCSN, with seven on NBC-TV – including the aforementioned Coke Zero 400 and the final three races of the season at Texas, Phoenix, and Homestead-Miami.

Fox Sports and Fox Sports 1 will carry the first half of the Cup schedule.

Without further ado, here are your start times for the 2015 season. Plan accordingly.


Saturday, Feb. 14 – Sprint Unlimited at Daytona, 8 p.m. ET (FOX)
Sunday, Feb. 15 – Daytona 500 Qualifying, 1 p.m. ET (FOX)
Thursday, Feb. 19 – Budweiser Duel at Daytona, 7 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
Sunday, Feb. 22 – 2015 Daytona 500, 1 p.m. ET (FOX)
Sunday, Mar. 1 – QuikTrip Folds of Honor 500, Atlanta Motor Speedway, 1 p.m. ET (FOX)
Sunday, Mar. 8 – Kobalt 400, Las Vegas Motor Speedway, 3:30 p.m. ET (FOX)
Sunday, Mar. 15 – 500, Phoenix International Raceway, 3:30 p.m. ET (FOX)
Sunday, Mar. 22 – Auto Club 400, Auto Club Speedway, 3:30 p.m. ET (FOX)
Sunday, Mar. 29 – STP 500, Martinsville Speedway, 1 p.m. ET (FOX)
Saturday, Apr. 11 – Duck Commander 500, Texas Motor Speedway, 7:30 p.m. ET (FOX)
Sunday, Apr. 19 – Food City 500, Bristol Motor Speedway, 1 p.m. ET (FOX)
Saturday, Apr. 25 – Toyota Owners 400, Richmond International Raceway, 7 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
Sunday, May 3 – Talladega 500, Talladega Superspeedway, 1 p.m. ET (FOX)
Saturday, May 9 – Kansas Speedway, 7:30 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
Friday, May 15 – Sprint Showdown, Charlotte Motor Speedway, 7 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
Saturday, May 16 – Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte, 7 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
Sunday, May 24 – Coca-Cola 600, Charlotte Motor Speedway, 6 p.m. ET (FOX)
Sunday, May 31 – Dover International Speedway, 1 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
Sunday, June 7 – Axalta “We Paint Winners” 400, Pocono Raceway, 1 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
Sunday, June 14 – Quicken Loans 400, Michigan International Speedway, 1 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
Sunday, June 28 – Toyota/SaveMart 350, Sonoma Raceway, 3 p.m. ET (Fox Sports 1)
Sunday, July 5 – Coke Zero 400, Daytona International Speedway, 7:45 p.m. ET (NBC)
Saturday, July 11 – Quaker State 400, Kentucky Speedway, 7:30 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Sunday, July 19 – New Hampshire Motor Speedway, 1:30 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Sunday, July 26 – Brickyard 400, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, 3:30 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Sunday, Aug. 2 – Pennsylvania 400, Pocono Raceway, 1:30 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Sunday, Aug. 9 – Cheez-It 355 at the Glen, Watkins Glen International, 2 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Sunday, Aug. 16 – Pure Michigan 400, Michigan International Speedway, 2:30 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Saturday, Aug. 22 – Irwin Tools Night Race, Bristol Motor Speedway, 7:30 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Sunday, Sept. 6 – Bojangles’ Southern 500, Darlington Raceway, 7 p.m. ET (NBC)
Saturday, Sept. 12 – Federated Auto Parts 400, Richmond International Raceway, 7:30 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Sunday, Sept. 20 – 400, Chicagoland Speedway, 3 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Sunday, Sept. 27 – Sylvania 300, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, 2 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Sunday, Oct. 4 – AAA 400, Dover International Speedway, 2:30 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Saturday, Oct. 10 – Bank of America 500, Charlotte Motor Speedway, 7 p.m. ET (NBC)
Sunday, Oct. 18 – Hollywood Casino 400, Kansas Speedway, 2:15 p.m. ET (NBC)
Sunday, Oct. 25 – GEICO 500, Talladega Superspeedway, 2:30 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Sunday, Nov. 1 – Goody’s Headache Relief Shot 500, Martinsville Speedway, 1:15 p.m. ET (NBCSN)
Sunday, Nov. 8 – AAA Texas 500, Texas Motor Speedway, 2 p.m. ET (NBC)
Sunday, Nov. 15 – Quicken Loans Race for Heroes 500, Phoenix International Raceway, 2:30 p.m. ET (NBC)
Sunday, Nov. 22 – Ford Ecoboost 400, Homestead-Miami Speedway, 3 p.m. ET (NBC)

Helio Castroneves ‘hustling’ for IndyCar, IMSA rides; talking with four to five teams

Helio Castroneves IMSA IndyCar
Leave a comment

As his season gathers steam, Helio Castroneves said his prospects for finding new rides for 2021 in IMSA and IndyCar also are gaining momentum.

The three-time Indianapolis 500 winner said Monday he is optimistic about landing in either or perhaps a combination of both series when Team Penske and Acura end their DPi partnership after this season.

“A lot of people I spoke with, four to five teams, are interested,” Castroneves said. “Whether it’s doing Indy 500 only, whether it’s pushing to do full time or do the sports cars as well. It’s been a very nice conversation.

LOOKING AHEADTeam Penske drivers seeking new rides for 2021

“I have a lot of respect for all the teams that have been talking, and I feel the same feedback. We just have to wait for their (sponsor) connections, and I’m also looking for some connections on my side as well, so hopefully we’ll be able to put this together and get something very soon.”

Given two decades of success with Penske in IndyCar and IMSA, Castroneves’ resume hardly needs burnishing. But the Brazilian has combined with co-driver Ricky Taylor in the No. 7 Acura DPi to win the past two overall victories at Road America and Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta.

But Castroneves, who doesn’t have a manager, said he has been working the phones hard rather than wait for the strong results to bring in the calls.

“At this point, I feel like I’m the one who needs to be talking to them because people need to know I want to continue racing and understand my desire,” Castroneves, 45, said. “There is opportunity, no question, in both (IndyCar and IMSA), which I’m really happy about it. However, because of the COVID-19, a lot of things sometimes have to be a little delayed. But I’m excited. Whatever the opportunity and whatever destiny guides me, whether IndyCar or sports cars, trust me I’ll be as happy as it could be and doing my 100 percent like I always did.

“It’s like politics, you need to be out there, good news or bad news. People have to make notice of your presence. I’m hustling. I want to continue to keep it going. Hopefully, we’ll have good news very soon.”

The news has been all good lately on track for Castroneves and Taylor, who hope to continue their run Sunday at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

The No. 6 duo has surged to sixth in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship standings, 10 points out of the lead with four races remaining. After thinking there was “no hope” to be competitive after opening the season with three consecutive poor finishes, Taylor now sees an opportunity for a happy ending.

“With the program going away, Helio has won all the big races and given so much back to the team and left such a mark, he’s really part of Penske history,” Taylor said. “For me, it’s been an opportunity of a lifetime to be a part of it. I’d like to leave my little mark as well. Helio has won everything except for a championship.

“Obviously, we’ve won races already together, but we can win a championship now. I think if both of us can do that together and both win our first championship for ‘The Captain,’ that would be an absolute dream come true, and we can tie a bow on it and be happy.”