Richard Childress Racing settles lawsuit with Matt McCall, Jamie McMurray’s new crew chief


Matt McCall and Richard Childress Racing have reached a settlement in their dispute about McCall leaving RCR to become Jamie McMurray’s crew chief.

According to a report by Bob Pockrass of, the two sides reached agreement thus avoiding the next scheduled hearing date, Feb. 10 in North Carolina Superior Court, which would have been three days before Speedweeks begins at Daytona International Speedway.

RCR sought a temporary injunction prohibiting McCall from assuming the role of McMurray’s crew chief with Chip Ganassi Racing. McCall left RCR at the end of the 2014 season.

RCR contended McCall violated terms of his existing contract with the company, as well as potentially took proprietary information from RCR.

McCall served as lead engineer on series runner-up Ryan Newman’s team last season.

RCR claimed that even though he didn’t have the title, many of McCall’s duties as lead engineer on Newman’s team were similar to those of a crew chief. McCall had contended was not the case.

The two sides indicated in a Jan. 16 filing with the court that they were closing in on a settlement, which was reached recently.

“Richard Childress Racing and Chip Ganassi Racing have reached an agreement pursuant to which Mathew McCall will remain the crew chief for Ganassi’s No. 1 Sprint Cup team,” a RCR statement said. “Both organizations believe it is important for NASCAR teams to work together to honor and protect their respective proprietary and trade secret technologies, as well as one another’s contractual commitments.

“The terms of the settlement are designed to further that objective. The remaining terms of the agreement shall remain confidential.”

McCall expressed satisfaction with the settlement during last week’s NASCAR media tour.

“It’s all behind us and we’re moving forward,” he said.

McCall had one more year remaining on his contract with RCR through 2015. But he left RCR to go to CGR, contending the new job as a crew chief was not “identical or similar to” his engineer role at RCR and did not violate the non-compete clause in his contract.

A North Carolina Superior Court judge originally ruled against RCR late last month.

MORE: Court rules against Richard Childress Racing in lawsuit vs. former team engineer Matt McCall

McCall said in his lawsuit that he made $115,000 plus bonuses/incentives as a lead engineer at RCR.

As a crew chief at CGR, McCall told the court he would be making three times his RCR salary, another argument he cited in claiming there indeed was a significant distinction between the duties of his former job and his new job.

Follow me @JerryBonkowski