Dale Jr.’s 21 races with Nationwide primary sponsorship revealed


Nationwide Insurance has stepped up to be the main primary sponsor for Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s No. 88 Chevrolet at Hendrick Motorsports in 2015, with the absence of the National Guard and other sponsors such as AMP/Diet Mtn Dew and Kelley Blue Book still on but for fewer races.

Nationwide, which was first announced in May 2014 as only a 12-race primary sponsor plan, upped its commitment to 21 races in September.

That 21-race schedule has now been revealed, starting with the Daytona 500 later this month.

The rest of the schedule after Daytona includes: Las Vegas, Phoenix (March), Auto Club Speedway, Texas (April), Richmond (April), Talladega (May), Kansas (May), Charlotte (May), Dover (May), Pocono (June), Daytona (July), Kentucky (July), New Hampshire (July), Indianapolis, Watkins Glen, Bristol (August), Dover (October), Martinsville (November), Phoenix (November) and Homestead, per a team release.

“The Nationwide deal is a continuance of a relationship we’ve had for many years,” Earnhardt said during Hendrick Motorsports’ NASCAR Media Tour press session last week in Charlotte.

“My father got me my first insurance policy when I was 16. It’s a genuine relationship we’ve had for a long time. Have also had the PSA the last several years. It’s great to see them grow their relationship with NASCAR, as the primary sponsor for 88 car. This is our year to celebrate with them.”

Barber IndyCar iRacing results

Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

Scott McLaughlin led the final six laps Saturday and finished 0.4241 seconds ahead of teammate Will Power to win the Honda IndyCar Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park.

Scott Speed finished third behind the Team Penske drivers. Alex Palou and Simon Pagenaud rounded out the top five.

Click here for the full boxscore from Saturday’s IndyCar iRacing event at Barber Motorsports Park.

WINNER: Scott McLaughlin holds off teammate Will Power

WHAT DRIVERS SAID: Postrace reactions on social media

Other notable finishers:

Colton Herta (seventh), Robert Wickens (eighth), Jimmie Johnson (12th), Graham Rahal (14th), Alexander Rossi (22nd).

Sage Karam led a race-high 24 laps but retired from the 45-lap event because of a crash and finished 27th of 29 drivers.