Ryan Dungey gets first Supercross win of season at Anaheim III


Now that he has the championship lead, Ryan Dungey has no intention of letting it go. The Red Bull KTM rider captured his first 450SX victory of the season Saturday night at Anaheim III.

In the main event, Dungey got a good start and tracked down holeshot winner Blake Baggett to take over the lead on the second lap. From there, Dungey was able to open up a gap of a few seconds over the rest of the field on his way to the checkered flag.

After losing the lead, Baggett was shuffled back to seventh place by the end of the race, but it was a new career-best for the 450 Class rookie.

Another rookie in the class, Cole Seely, turned in his best ride of the season with a second-place finish. Eli Tomac made a late charge to pass Ken Roczen on the final lap to secure a third-place result and a spot on the podium.

Five rounds into the season, Dungey has now increased his title lead to 11 points over Roczen thanks to his consistency. Dungey has yet to finish worse than fourth, and he has seemingly gotten better with each passing week.

In the 250 Class, the expected fireworks between Cooper Webb and Tyler Bowers never materialized, but there was still drama.

When the main event got underway, Zach Osborne’s gate failed to drop due to a malfunction. Officials eventually made the decision to red flag the race and restart it from scratch, but not before five laps had already been competed. Webb had just taken over the lead and was fired up about having to completely restart the race.

It wouldn’t matter much for Webb though. When the gate dropped for a second time, he got another strong start and found himself trailing Jessy Nelson. Nelson successfully fended him off for eight laps, but Webb eventually got around him en route to his third 250SX win in the last four races.

Nelson held on to finish second, while Webb’s rookie teammate on the Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha squad, Aaron Plessinger, earned a career best third-place finish.

With the win, Webb was able to open up an even bigger cushion in the points lead. Two of his biggest challengers – Tyler Bowers and Malcolm Stewart – both had crashes that shuffled them to the rear of the field and left them scrambling to salvage points.

The series resumes next Saturday in San Diego.

Anaheim III 450SX Results
1. Ryan Dungey
2. Cole Seely (-2.3 seconds)
3. Eli Tomac
4. Ken Roczen
5. Trey Canard

450SX Point Standings
1. Ryan Dungey, 107
2. Ken Roczen, 96
3. Eli Tomac, 84
4. Trey Canard, 84
5. Jason Anderson, 74

Anaheim III 250SX Results
1. Cooper Webb
2. Jessy Nelson (-3.6 seconds)
3. Aaron Plessinger
4. Zach Osborne
5. Matt Bisceglia

250SX Point Standings
1. Cooper Webb, 111
2. Jessy Nelson, 93
3. Zach Osborne, 87
4. Tyler Bowers, 84
5. Justin Hill, 78