NASCAR: Truck Series vet Johnny Sauter to run Daytona 500 for BK Racing

1 Comment

Camping World Truck Series veteran Johnny Sauter will attempt to make the Daytona 500 next month.

Sauter, who finished fourth in Truck Series points last season, will drive the No. 83 BK Racing Toyota Camry with Doug Richert as crew chief.

But as’s Candace Spencer notes, Sauter will have to earn a starting spot in the field as the No. 83 was 41st in Sprint Cup owner points last season.

J.J. Yeley was named as BK’s “primary driver” for the 2015 season last week and will be Sauter’s teammate. Spencer’s report says that Yeley will be driving the No. 23 BK Toyota with Joe Williams atop his pit box. A third driver for BK’s No. 26 Toyota is to be named on Monday.

Sauter has made five career Cup starts at Daytona, but none since 2008. His best finish of those starts is a 16th in the 2007 running of the ‘500.’ However, he won at Daytona in the Truck Series in 2013 for Thorsport Racing, his current team in that division.

Champion Marc Marquez leads MotoGP into virtual world Sunday

Sadiq Asyraf/Getty Images
Leave a comment

During its layoff because of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, MotoGP will become the latest racing series to enter the virtual world.

The MotoGP Virtual Race will be held at 9 a.m. ET Sunday, March 29 with 10 riders. It will be streamed on several platforms, including the Motorsports on NBC YouTube channel. Reigning series champion Marc Marquez is among the riders in the field.

The premier class of MotoGP has yet to hit the track this season as its opener was canceled and the next three races were postponed, including the Grand Prix of the Americas being moved from April 5 to Nov. 15.

Several other racing series have tried online racing in recent weeks.

IMSA held a “SuperSaturday at Sebring” March 21 in place of the postponed Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring. NASCAR started its Pro Invitational Series last Sunday at Homestead-Miami Speedway and will continue Sunday at Texas Motor Speedway. IndyCar kicked off its six-race IndyCar iRacing Challenge with a Saturday race at Watkins Glen International that was won by Sage Karam.