Dale Earnhardt Jr., Brad Keselowski unhappy with track’s ad


Sometimes race promotions work, sometimes they don’t.

Las Vegas Motor Speedway is the latest track to suffer the ire of those it is promoting.

Playing off the finish of last year’s race, the track is asking fans whose side it is on – Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s or Brad Keselowski’s. Earnhardt, fresh off his win in the Daytona 500 two weeks earlier, was closing in on what appeared to be another win last year at Las Vegas, only to run out of gas on the last lap.

Earnhardt’s misfortune turned out to be Keselowski’s good fortune, as Keselowski passed his former team owner and captured the checkered flag.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bxYOEXv5fg&w=560&h=315%5D

It was the first of six races Keselowski won in 2014, tops among all Sprint Cup drivers.

Now comes a new promotion – to publicize the March 8 Kobalt 400 – that may have backfired, at least from the viewpoint of the two drivers that were directly involved.

When Junior and Keselowski saw the track’s ad, which was included in the above tweet, they took to Twitter to express their thoughts.

That should catch the attention of LVMS officials.

Junior tweeted first:

Keselowski responded shortly thereafter.

We’ll leave it to you, the fan, to take it from there.

Follow me @JerryBonkowski

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold