Numerology update: What’s new for 2015 in NASCAR, F1, IndyCar

1 Comment

Ahead of a new season, there’s always a lot of team and driver maneuvering and with it, new numbers to identify.

Here’s a list of the numbers and/or driver team moves set to change from 2014 to 2015 in NASCAR Sprint Cup, Formula 1 and the Verizon IndyCar Series:

NASCAR Sprint Cup

  • Trevor Bayne: 21 (Wood Brothers) to 6 (Roush Fenway Racing). Bayne’s No. 6 car will inherit the No. 99 RFR owner points from 2014.
  • Alex Bowman: 23 (BK Racing) to 7 (Tommy Baldwin Racing)
  • Sam Hornish Jr.: 54 (Joe Gibbs Racing Xfinity Series) to 9 (Richard Petty Motorsports)
  • Carl Edwards: 99 (Roush Fenway Racing) to 19 (Joe Gibbs Racing)
  • Ryan Blaney: 12 (Team Penske) to 21 (Wood Brothers)
  • Ron Hornaday: 9 (Camping World Truck Series) to 30 (TMG)
  • Cole Whitt: 26 (BK Racing) to 35 (Front Row Motorsports)
  • Michael Annett: 7 (Tommy Baldwin Racing) to 46 (HScott Motorsports)
  • Chase Elliott: 9 (JR Motorsports Xfinity Series) to 25 (Hendrick Motorsports); selected races only.

Formula 1

  • Sebastian Vettel: 1 (Red Bull) to 5 (Ferrari)
  • Fernando Alonso: Ferrari to McLaren (14 stays)
  • Daniil Kvyat: Toro Rosso to Red Bull (26 stays)
  • Marcus Ericsson: Caterham to Sauber (9 stays)
  • Felipe Nasr: 40 (Williams Friday driver) to 12 (Sauber)
  • Max Verstappen: 38 (Toro Rosso Friday driver) to 33 (Toro Rosso)
  • Carlos Sainz Jr.: New 55 (Toro Rosso)

Verizon IndyCar Series

  • Will Power: 12 to 1 (champion; Team Penske)
  • Luca Filippi: 16 (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing) to 20 (CFH Racing)
  • Simon Pagenaud: 77 (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports) to 22 (Team Penske)
  • Carlos Munoz: 34 (Andretti Autosport) to 26 (Andretti Autosport)
  • Marco Andretti: 25 (Andretti Autosport) to 27 (Andretti Autosport)
  • Jack Hawksworth: 98 (Bryan Herta Autosport) to 41 (A.J. Foyt Enterprises)
  • James Hinchcliffe: 27 (Andretti Autosport) to 77 (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
  • Gabby Chaves: New 98 (Bryan Herta Autosport)

Valtteri Bottas wins chaotic season-opening F1 Austrian Grand Prix

Mark Thompson/Getty Images
1 Comment

SPIELBERG, Austria — Valtteri Bottas won a chaotic season-opening F1 Austrian Grand Prix while six-time series champion Lewis Hamilton finished fourth after getting a late time penalty Sunday.

The Formula One race was interrupted three times by a safety car, and nine of 20 drivers abandoned, including both Red Bulls of Max Verstappen and Alexander Albon – who tried to overtake Hamilton on the outside with 10 laps left, touched wheels and flew off track.

Hamilton was given a 5-second time penalty for causing the collision, having earlier been hit with a three-place grid penalty after an incident in Saturday’s qualifying was reviewed by stewards.

SHOW OF SUPPORT: Drivers take knee before race

Bottas led all 71 laps in the eighth victory of his career. It was the second consecutive victory in the season opener for the Finn, though he won four months earlier in 2019 after this season’s start was delayed by the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Lando Norris of McLaren F1 celebrates after his first podium finish (Mark Thompson/Getty Images).

Bottas started from pole position and Hamilton from fifth, but it looked like a straight fight between the two Mercedes drivers as has been the case so often in recent years.

But late drama in Spielberg ensured otherwise and Hamilton’s time penalty meant Charles Leclerc took second place for Ferrari, and Lando Norris sent McLaren’s garage into raptures – and threw all social distancing rules out of the window amid the euphoria – with third place.

It was the 20-year-old British driver’s first career podium, and his superb final lap was the fastest of a dramatic season opener.

Norris became the youngest British driver to secure a podium finish and the third-youngest ever in Formula One.

Valtteri Bottas leads Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton during the Formula One Grand Prix of Austria (Mark Thompson/Getty Images).