Canard holds off Roczen to win San Diego Supercross

Leave a comment

American Honda’s Trey Canard earned the 450 Class win – his second in the last three races – at San Diego’s Petco Park, keeping him firmly in the Monster Energy Supercross championship hunt.

It was RCH Racing’s Ken Roczen grabbing the holeshot in the main event, but Canard caught and passed him to take over the lead on the race’s fourth lap. Although Canard initially opened up a gap, Roczen battled back late in the race and put the heat on the leader. Despite the intense battle, Canard ultimately would fend Roczen off and capture the checkered flag.

Roczen’s second-place finish was his best result in three weeks. He’s been on a bit of a slide in the championship standings lately, but he was able to pick up two points on title leader Ryan Dungey, who rode his Red Bull KTM to a third-place result.

In the 250 Class, Cooper Webb overcame a major crash in practice – one that sent him flying over the bars – to win his fourth race in five weeks.

To do it, Webb would have to track down and pass his emerging rival, Tyler Bowers. Webb’s speed was on full display once again in this one as got around Bowers and made his way into the lead.

On that same lap, Bowers also ceded second place to Shane McElrath, who held on to earn a career-best finish. Bowers finished behind him in third to secure a spot on the podium.

Webb – who didn’t even know if he would race after his crash – now holds a commanding 30-point lead in the 250SX West championship standings with just two rounds left. His momentum may be halted though, as the West Region will be on hiatus until April 11th when the series visits Houston.

The Supercross season continues with round seven in Arlington next Saturday. In addition to the continuation of the 450 Class title fight, the event will include the season debut of the 250SX East Region.

San Diego 450SX Results
1. Trey Canard
2. Ken Roczen (-1.0 seconds)
3. Ryan Dungey
4. Chad Reed
5. Eli Tomac

450SX Point Standings
1. Ryan Dungey, 127
2. Ken Roczen, 118
3. Trey Canard, 109
4. Eli Tomac, 100
5. Jason Anderson, 85

San Diego 250SX Results
1.Cooper Webb
2. Shane McElrath (-2.9 seconds)
3. Tyler Bowers
4. Josh Hansen
5. Alex Martin

250SX West Point Standings
1. Cooper Webb, 136
2. Jessy Nelson, 106
3. Tyler Bowers, 104
4. Zach Osborne, 102
5. Shane McElrath, 86

IndyCar teams with NASCAR on IMS road course doubleheader in 2021

IndyCar NASCAR doubleheader 2021
Jamie Squire/Getty Images
Leave a comment

The NTT IndyCar Series will be sharing Indianapolis Motor Speedway with the NASCAR Cup Series in a race weekend doubleheader for the second consecutive season, but both series will be on the road course in August 2021.

IMS announced Wednesday that IndyCar will hold an Aug. 14, 2021 race on its 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. It’ll be a day before NASCAR’s premier series runs the same layout for the first time after the Brickyard 400 was contested on the 2.5-mile oval for the first time in 27 years.

This season’s rescheduling of the IndyCar GMR Grand Prix to July 4, 2019 (a day before the Brickyard 400) led to the first NASCAR-IndyCar doubleheader weekend. The Xfinity Series also raced on the IMS road course for the first time July 4 after the IndyCar race ended.

INDYCAR AT IMS THIS WEEKEND: Harvest GP schedule, entry lists

IndyCar will be holding its second race weekend this year at the IMS road course Friday and Saturday with the Harvest GP.

“Our first NASCAR-INDYCAR weekend was a big success last July, with positive feedback from
our loyal fans who watched the races on NBC and from the drivers, teams and participants
involved,” IMS president Douglas Boles said in a statement. “The Xfinity Series’ debut on the IMS road course provided exactly the kind of thrilling action from the green to checkered flags that we anticipated, so we know the teams and drivers of the Cup Series will put on a great show as they turn left and right for the first time at IMS.

“We can’t wait to welcome back fans to see NASCAR and INDYCAR together during this
exciting weekend as we add another memorable chapter in the long, storied history of the
Indianapolis Motor Speedway.”

It also will mark the first NASCAR Cup-IndyCar doubleheader with a crowd as fans weren’t permitted at IMS in July because of the novel coronvavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Over the course of Wednesday, NASCAR is releasing its 36-race slate for next season. IndyCar has yet to release its full 2021 schedule.