Hamilton, Ricciardo and Mercedes nominated for prestigious Laureus Award


Lewis Hamilton, Daniel Ricciardo and Mercedes AMG Petronas have all received nominations for the presitigious Laureus World Sports Awards, dubbed “the Oscars of sport”.

2014 F1 world champion Hamilton has been nominated for the World Sportsman of the Year Award, which was won last year by Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel.

The British driver clinched his second world title in emphatic style, winning 11 grands prix in a record-breaking year for Mercedes. This in turn has led to the German team being nominated for the World Team of the Year Award.

Hamilton will face stiff opposition for the individual award though, with Novak Djokovic, Cristiano Ronaldo, Rory McIlroy and Moto GP champion Marc Marquez also being nominated. In Mercedes’ category, the European Ryder Cup team and the FIFA World Cup-winning German national football team are its biggest opponents.

Ricciardo finds himself in the Breakthrough of the Year category, having enjoyed a superb year with Red Bull that saw him win three races en route to third place in the drivers’ championship. His rivals for the award include Marin Cilic, Mario Gotze and James Rodriguez.

You can see the full list of nominees for the Laureus World Sports Awards here. The winners will be announced on April 15th in Shanghai.

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.