More movements in GP2, GP3, Formula Renault 3.5 for 2015


It has been a busy week in three of the most prominent junior championships – GP2, GP3 and Formula Renault 3.5 – with driver announcements, moves and withdrawals all of note.

Here’s a quickfire round-up of all of the latest driver moves and changes ahead of the start of the new racing seasons.


  • Trident driver Raffaele Marciello will take part in practice for the Malaysian Grand Prix later this month, marking his first on-track running as a reserve driver for Sauber F1 Team.
  • GP2 veteran Johnny Cecotto Jr. (pictured) appears to be on the move for 2015, taking part in Formula Renault 3.5 pre-season testing for Zeta Corse this week. The Venezuelan is yet to confirm his plans for the new year, though.
  • Marlon Stockinger has rejoined Status ahead of its debut season in GP2 in 2015, having raced for the team in GP3 back in 2012.


  • Colombia’s Oscar Tunjo has been forced to give up his seat with Pons Racing for 2015, with the team stating that he “was forced to reconsider his plans due to budget concerns”.
  • Pons has confirmed one of its drivers for the new season, though, with Roberto Merhi staying in FR3.5 for a second year. Merhi was poised to make his F1 debut for Caterham last season ahead of the team’s collapse, taking part in practice for the Italian, Japanese and Russian Grands Prix.
  • Malaysian driver Jazeman Jaafar has switched teams for 2015, moving from ISR to Fortec. Jaafar is backed by Mercedes title sponsor Petronas.


  • Artur Janosz has been confirmed at Trident, moving up to GP3 after two years in the European F3 Open championship.
  • Kevin Ceccon will spend a third year in GP3 in 2015, switching from Jenzer Motorsport to Arden International.
  • Having been confirmed in Nissan’s LMP1 squad for 2015, Jann Mardenborough will not race in GP3 this year.
  • Nick Yelloly has also left GP3, confirming that he will race in the European Le Mans Series with Jota Sport in 2015.
  • German youngster Marvin Kirchhofer is reported to have signed a deal to race in both GP3 and the FIA F3 European Championship in 2015.

MotorSportsTalk will be providing comprehensive coverage of all of these junior championships in 2015 as F1’s stars of tomorrow continue to forge their path to the top of the racing ladder.

Final 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona results, points


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — The 2023 Rolex 24 at Daytona overall results were all streaks: two consecutive victories in the endurance classic for Meyer Shank Racing and three in a row for Acura.

And Helio Castroneves became the second driver to win three consecutive Rolex 24s and the first to win in three straight years (Peter Gregg won in 1973, ’75 and ’76; the race wasn’t held in ’74 because of a global oil crisis).

Starting from the pole position, Tom Blomqvist took the checkered flag in the No. 60 ARX-06 that led a race-high 365 of 783 laps with co-drivers Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud and Colin Braun.

RESULTS: Click here for the finishing order in the 61st Rolex 24 at Daytona l By class

POINTS: Standings after Rolex 24 at Daytona l Michelin Endurance Cup standings l Daytona endurance points

Meyer Shank Racing now has two Rolex 24 victories and the 2022 championship since entering the premier prototype category of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship in 2021.

“I think what’s so special about this team is we are a small team compared to some of our opponents, but the atmosphere, the way we work, enables people to get the best out of themselves, and I think that’s why we’re such high achievers,” Blomqvist said. “I think there’s no egos. It’s a very open book, and that just enables each and every one of us to reach our potential. I think that’s why we’ve achieved so much success in really a short time at this level of competition.”

It’s the 16th IMSA victory for MSR.

The 61st running of the Rolex 24 at Daytona marked the debut of the Grand Touring Prototype category that brought hybrid engine technology to IMSA’s top level.

In other categories:

LMP2: James Allen passed Ben Hanley on the final lap and delivered a victory in the No. 55 ORECA by 0.016 seconds. It’s the second IMSA victory for Proton Competition, which last won at Sebring in 2012. It was the first Rolex 24 victory for Allen and co-drivers Gianmaria Bruni, Fred Poordad and Francesco Pizzi.

GTD Pro: Cooper MacNeil won in the last start of his IMSA career as the No. 79 Mercedes-AMG GT3 scored the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for WeatherTech Racing and the team’s fourth career victory.

MacNeil, who co-drove with Maro Engel, Jules Gounon and Daniel Juncadella, earned his 12th career victory and first at the Rolex 24.

“Winning by last IMSA race is tremendous,” MacNeil said.

GTD: The No. 27 Heart of Racing Team delivered the first Rolex 24 at Daytona for Aston Martin, which has been competing in endurance races at Daytona International Speedway since 1964. Drivers Marco Sorensen, Roman De Angelis, Darren Turner and Ian James (also the team principal) earned the victory in the English brand’s 13th attempt.

It’s also the first Rolex 24 at Daytona win for Heart of Racing, which has seven IMSA wins.

LMP3: Anthony Mantella, Wayne Boyd, Nico Varrone and Thomas Merrill drove the No. 17 AWA Duqueine D08 to victory by 12 laps for the team’s first class win in IMSA.


Fastest laps by driver

Fastest laps by driver after race (over the weekend)

Fastest laps by driver and class after race

Fastest lap sequence

Lap chart

Leader sequence

Race analysis by lap

Stint analysis

Time cards

Pit stop time cards

Best sector times

Race distance and speed average

Flag analysis

Weather report

NEXT: The 2023 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season will resume with the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring March 18 with coverage across NBC, USA and Peacock.