Supercross: Ryan Dungey captures first Daytona win


For the first time in his career, Ryan Dungey won a Daytona Supercross race, compiling his fourth win of the season and extending his points lead in the 450 Class in the process.

The first rider to earn back-to-back wins in 2015, Dungey led the final 13 laps of Saturday night’s 20-lap main event after overtaking Andrew Short for the lead. Eli Tomac worked his way up from the middle of the pack to finish second, and Blake Baggett earned the first 450 Class podium of his career with a third-place finish.

Trey Canard had a rough night thanks to an early crash that left him in 21st after the first lap. The American Honda rider – who had been fastest in practice earlier in the day – battled through the field to finish sixth but lost ten points to Dungey in the championship standings and now faces a 40-point deficit.

Absent from the field was Ken Roczen, who entered the night third in points. The RCH Suzuki rider had been dealing with an ankle injury in recent weeks and re-aggravated it during practice. As a result, he was forced to pull out of the race.

A hybrid of traditional supercross and outdoor motocross, Daytona Supercross features the most unique track on the circuit. The Ricky Carmichael-designed course – which was built on top of the tri-oval grass at Daytona International Speedway – also challenged riders with a different layout than past years.

In the 250 Class, Marvin Musquin continued his recent tear, leading all 15 laps of the main event to secure his third win in four tries. Behind him, Justin Bogle and Jeremy Martin finished on the podium once again and still remain in the thick of the championship hunt.

Monster Energy Supercross resumes next Saturday at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.

Daytona 450SX Results
1. Ryan Dungey
2. Eli Tomac (-4.2 seconds)
3. Blake Baggett
4. Cole Seely
5. Chad Reed

450SX Point Standings (after 10 of 17 races)
1. Ryan Dungey, 224
2. Trey Canard, 184
3. Eli Tomac, 159
4. Ken Roczen, 156
5. Chad Reed, 140

Daytona 250SX Results
1. Marvin Musquin
2. Justin Bogle (-5.7 seconds)
3. Jeremy Martin
4. Joey Savatgy
5. RJ Hampshire

250SX East Point Standings (after 4 of 8 races)
1. Marvin Musquin, 97
2. Jeremy Martin, 85
3. Justin Bogle, 84
4. Joey Savatgy, 72
5. Martin Davalos, 56