WATCH LIVE: FP1 for the Australian Grand Prix


The 2015 Formula 1 season bursts into life on Friday morning in Melbourne with the first free practice session for the Australian Grand Prix.

Following a long winter, the teams will get their first chance to lay down a marker to the rest of the field during practice at Albert Park today, with Mercedes, Williams and Ferrari all hoping to continue their pre-season form from the off Down Under.

You can watch FP1 for the Australian Grand Prix live on NBC Sports Live Extra from 9:30p ET. CLICK HERE to watch via live stream.

Although first practice gives very little idea of how the pecking order will shape up for the rest of the weekend, it will be intriguing to see how the teams fare in the first weekend session of the year. The front-runners will want to make an immediate impression, but for the likes of McLaren and Force India, simply racking up the mileage would be an achievement.

Uncertainty still surrounds the next move for Sauber and Giedo van der Garde following their legal row across the course of the race weekend. In the past couple of hours, yet another court hearing has taken place, with the judge choosing to adjourn proceedings until after FP1. Even at this late stage, it is unclear just who will be driving the team’s cars in the session.

Nevertheless, FP1 will go ahead as normal in Australia as the countdown to the first race of the year continues. For a complete round-up of all of the pre-race weekend news and reports, be sure to check out our full grand prix preview.

Be sure to join us at 9:30p ET for live coverage for FP1 for the Australian Grand Prix on NBC Sports Live Extra. CLICK HERE to watch via live stream.

The session will be repeated at 12:30a ET on NBCSN ahead of live coverage of second practice, which kicks off at 1:30a ET. You can see full broadcasting details for the Australian GP here.