The 2015 Melbourne top 10 was widely different from last year’s


While much was made of Mercedes AMG Petronas continuing its domination to open the year – and almost exceeding the seemingly impossible-to-improve results it set out for itself last year – there was actually quite a bit of change year-on-year in the results from the 2014 Australian Grand Prix to the 2015 attrition-marred version.

Only Nico Rosberg, Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez have scored points in both the 2014 and 2015 editions of the race.

For a comparison, here’s last year’s top 10:

1. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes
2. Kevin Magnussen, McLaren-Mercedes
3. Jenson Button, McLaren-Mercedes
4. Fernando Alonso, Ferrari
5. Valtteri Bottas, Williams-Mercedes
6. Nico Hulkenberg, Force India-Mercedes
7. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari
8. Jean-Eric Vergne, Toro Rosso-Renault
9. Daniil Kvyat, Toro Rosso-Renault
10. Sergio Perez, Force India-Mercedes

The magnitude of the year-on-year change from 2014 to now is evident in this year’s top 10, linked below:

1. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
2. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes
3. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari
4. Felipe Massa, Williams-Mercedes
5. Felipe Nasr, Sauber-Ferrari
6. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull-Renault
7. Nico Hulkenberg, Force India-Mercedes
8. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber-Ferrari
9. Carlos Sainz Jr., Toro Rosso-Renault
10. Sergio Perez, Force India-Mercedes

It’s interesting to see the differences. Alonso and Bottas were ruled out before the race, Magnussen and Kvyat made it out of the garage but ran aground of mechanical gremlins before the lights went out, and Vergne is now out of F1.

Hamilton and Vettel kick off their years with big points after high-profile DNFs a year ago. Two debutantes scored this year in Nasr and Sainz Jr., just as two did a year ago in Magnussen and Kvyat. Sainz Jr. actually matched Kvyat’s result of a year ago. His Toro Rosso teammate Max Verstappen was on pace to score foo before grounding to a halt in the final 25 laps.

While the Driver’s Championship after one race mirrors the finishing order, the Constructor’s Championship doesn’t.

Here’s a look at the difference, year-on-year there after the opening Grand Prix:

1. McLaren-Mercedes, 33
2. Mercedes, 25
3. Ferrari, 18
4. Williams-Mercedes, 10
5. Force India-Mercedes, 9
6. Toro Rosso-Renault, 6

This year, Mercedes kicks off its title defense with a perfect score of 43 points for its first of what will likely be many 1-2 finishes this season. Meanwhile Sauber is a big winner as well, with two points scorers more on Sunday than they had in all of 2014:

1. Mercedes, 43
2. Ferrari, 15
3. Sauber-Ferrari, 14
4. Williams-Mercedes, 12
5. Red Bull-Renault, 8
6. Force India-Mercedes, 7
7. Toro Rosso-Renault, 2

Yes, this is only the score from one race. But it’s still a pretty big year-on-year adjustment.