2015 Sebring 12 Hours Updates

1 Comment

7:30 p.m. ET: As the race nears its final three-hour stint, domination has been the story of the day in all classes.

It’s been Action Express Racing (P), PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports (PC), Porsche North America (GTLM) and either Riley Motorsports or Alex Job Racing (GTD) pretty much controlling the race as it’s developed.

Will they all hold on to win? Stay tuned.

5:00 p.m. ET: The race is past halfway, six hours down and six to go. IndyCar star Scott Dixon led at the halfway point, but the bigger story thus far is Action Express Racing hitting a major milestone of 10,000 consecutive miles completed since the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship began at the 2014 Rolex 24 at Daytona.

The No. 5 car has completed every lap of competition to date since that race.

Meanwhile in GTLM and GTD, the top seven cars are on the lead lap in both classes.

2:00 p.m. ET: The race is past the three-hour mark. Both of the LMP2-spec cars expecting to contend have fallen out of contention.

First off, Ozz Negri crashed in the second hour when he lost control of his No. 60 Michael Shank Racing Ligier JS P2 Honda over the curbs at Turn 14. Negri was attempting to pass Bryan Sellers in the No. 17 Team Falken Tire Porsche 911 RSR but ran wide and then collected the barriers.

Secondly, Krohn Racing went behind the wall to make repairs, and got a new nose and new muffler on its No. 57 car. It’s cost the car five laps, but Pla, Krohn and Nic Jonsson press on.

Sebastien Bourdais has controlled the race in this phase in P and overall, with former Champ Car teammate Bruno Junqueira on top in PC, Nick Tandy leading GTLM and Ben Keating GTD past the three-hour mark.

12:00 p.m. ET: Past one hour into the 63rd Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring, the race has resumed under green after an extended yellow to remove the stopped No. 98 Aston Martin Vantage GTE.

Olivier Pla led for the entirety of his first stint in the No. 57 Krohn Racing Ligier JS P2 Judd before pitting and handing off to Tracy Krohn. Ryan Dalziel assumed the lead on the pit sequence.

Other leaders at the one-hour mark included Conor Daly (PC), Joerg Bergmeister (GTLM) and Mario Farnbacher (GTD).

There wasn’t too much to report, other than this critter nugget: