Franck Montagny receives two-year ban from FIA after positive drug test

1 Comment

Franck Montagny, who was in the news to kick off the 2015 calendar for a positive drug test of a cocaine derivative, has received a two-year ban from the FIA for his actions. The FIA confirmed Montagny tested positive for Benzoylecgonine (a metabolite of Cocaine registered under point S.6a of the 2014 WADA Prohibited List).

He hasn’t raced this year, and he last raced in the opening two FIA Formula E Championship races of its season last fall.

The FIA Anti-Doping Disciplinary Committee (ADC) held a hearing on Montagny’s case in Paris on February 19, with the ruling coming down today.

The decision from the ADC is as follows:

The ADC has concluded that an Anti-Doping Rule Violation according to Article 2.1 of the 2014 FIA Anti-Doping Regulations – “Presence of Prohibited Substance or its Metabolites or Markers in a driver’s Sample” – has been established.

As a consequence, the ADC has decided to impose the following sanctions on Mr Franck MONTAGNY:

1. A disqualification of all competitive results obtained by Mr Franck MONTAGNY between 22 November 2014 and 23 December 2014, as well as the result obtained by Mr Franck MONTAGNY in the Putrajaya event of the FIA Formula E Championship, with all of the resulting consequences including forfeiture of any trophies, points and prizes;

2. A sanction of ineligibility for a period of 2 (two) years, starting on 23 December 2014 (beginning of his Provisional Suspension) and expiring on 23 December 2016.

Montagny has 21 days with which to appeal the suspension. He had been provisionally suspended as of December 23.

IMSA at Mid-Ohio Sunday: How to watch, schedules, TV, stream info

IMSA Mid-Ohio schedule
Leave a comment

The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship returns to a sprint as the circuit enters the stretch run of the 2020 season with a packed weekend schedule at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

The Acura Sports Car Challenge will be a two-hour, 40-minute race around the 13-turn, 2.258-mile road course in Lexington, Ohio, for the DPi, GTLM and GTD classes.

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar teams will practice Friday and Saturday. Qualifying will take place at 8 a.m. Sunday before a 2 p.m. green flag (same-day delay 11 p.m. ET, NBCSN; streaming on NBC Sports App, and TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold) for the headlining race of a busy weekend.

There will be eight other races at Mid-Ohio across four series: the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge, IMSA Prototype Challenge, Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge USA by Yokohama and the Battery Tender Global Mazda MX-5 Cup.

The GTLM class of IMSA’s top series will be short two entries with Porsche pulling out because of positive COVID-19 tests at the 24 Hours of Le Mans last weekend.

This will mark the seventh race of the season. After Mid-Ohio, there are three events left for the premier DPi and four for the GT division, including two of the year’s longest (the 10-hour Petit Le Mans at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta and the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring season finale).

Here are the details for IMSA this weekend at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course (all times are ET):

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race at Mid-Ohio

WHEN: Sunday, 2 p.m.

TV:  11 p.m. (same-day delay), NBCSN (streaming link); 2 p.m. NBC Sports App (streaming link) / TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold

STREAM: NBC Sports App, and TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold (live flag to flag starting at 2 p.m.)

RADIO: IMSA Radio will have live radio coverage throughout the weekend on and, as well as SiriusXM

RACE DISTANCE: Two hours and 40 minutes around the 13-turn, 2.258-mile road course in Lexington, Ohio.

FORECAST: According to, it’s expected to be 81 degrees with a 1% chance of rain at the green flag.

ENTRY LIST: Click here for which WeatherTech SportsCar Championship teams are racing at Mid-Ohio

IMSA Mid-Ohio weekend schedule


6:10-7:10 p.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship practice


10:55 a.m.-12:10 p.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship practice


8-9:05 a.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship qualifying

2 p.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Acura Sports Car Challenge