WATCH LIVE: Malaysian GP FP3 at 2a ET on Live Extra

Leave a comment

The Mercedes AMG Petronas teammates split Friday’s free practice sessions, with Nico Rosberg pacing FP1 and Lewis Hamilton on top in FP2 for the Malaysian Grand Prix.

On Saturday morning, the battle continues with FP3, the final session heading into qualifying.

You can watch FP3 for the Malaysian Grand Prix live on NBC Sports Live Extra from 2a ET. CLICK HERE to watch via live stream.

Hamilton didn’t feel particularly pleased after power unit issues in FP1 set him a bit further back on Friday. He got back in the groove though in FP2.

Elsewhere Fernando Alonso looks to improve on his second day back after his first day went decently.

Again, you can watch FP3 for the Malaysian Grand Prix live on NBC Sports Live Extra from 2a ET. CLICK HERE to watch via live stream.

Steve Torrence takes NHRA points lead with Gatornationals victory

NHRA Gainesville Steve Torrence
Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Two-time defending NHRA Top Fuel champion Steve Torrence took the points lead Sunday in the AMALIE Motor Oil Gatornationals, beating his father, Billy, in the final round at Gainesville Raceway.

Torrence had a 3.809-second run at 322.11 mph to win for the third time this year and 39th overall. He is now on track for another championship despite missing the season opener.

“We’ve got some good momentum and to be in the points lead, it’s a testament to how hard these guys work,” Steve Torrence said after the NHRA Gainesville victory. “We’ve just got to stay focused and concentrate on what the task at hand is, and that’s trying to win a championship. These guys give me an unbelievable race car and you just try not to screw it up.”

Ron Capps won in Funny Car, Alex Laughlin in Pro Stock and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Capps raced to his second win this year and 66th overall, beating Tim Wilkerson with a 3.937 at 323.12 in a Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat.

Laughlin topped Aaron Stanfield with a 7.068 at 204.76 in a Chevrolet Camaro for his first win this season and fourth in his career. Smith rode to his first victory in 2020 and 25th overall, topping Andrew Hines with a 6.843 at 196.99 on an EBR.